Reckless CrossFit

4.8
based on 30 reviews

Location5Somewhat safe

Cleanliness4.7Fairly Clean

Equipment4.7Nicely Equipped

Coaching4.8Very Knowledgable

Atmosphere4.8Somewhat friendly

3922 Turner Ave.
Plano, Illinois 60545
United States

Web:

MAP

Reviews

The Best Crossfit Box of the Midwest-BOOM!

My home boxPosted 2 years ago by

I give it 5 out of 3 KB, but seriously when you think of trying out crossfit, most feel intimidated. When you go to a place like Reckless you soon realize that all those daunting ideas begging to dissolve. I am a 1st time crossfit athlete, and I can tell you that I fell in love with it because of Reckless. The coaches are awesome, the atmosphere is fun, and the athletes are friendly, and the mascots cute (hehe).

Overall experience

5

Location4

Cleanliness5

Equipment5

Coaching5

Atmosphere5

Best thing that's ever happened to me!!

My home boxPosted 2 years ago by

I have been working out at Reckless since February of this year, and it has changed my life in ways I never thought about happening at a gym!! I've worked out at many gyms and always needed something more. CrossFit is just that!! I work out at 8:30 am and Josh is my coach most of the time, and he is AWESOME!! He is always giving me tips to get better and correcting anything I'm doing wrong. He truly is a one-size-fits all coach!! Wheather it's the strong guys or the new member unsure of movements, he treats us all the same and is so helpful, friendly and funny! I love all the coaches and have made so many awesome imrovements with strength, weight, diet and mostly confidence! I love working out here and I will never leave!! thank you guys!!

Overall experience

5

Location5

Cleanliness5

Equipment5

Coaching5

Atmosphere5

Simply the BEST!!!

My home boxPosted 2 years ago by

I have been going to Reckless CrossFit for about 3 months now, and there is only one way to describe it......Simply the BEST! The coaches are amazing, supportive and great motivators. The other athletes are just as wonderful, you really feel like part of a community. I can't imagine going anywhere else. No matter what your fitness level, you will not be disappointed!

Overall experience

5

Location5

Cleanliness5

Equipment5

Coaching5

Atmosphere5

Team atmosphere

My home boxPosted 2 years ago by

I joined Reckless crossfit on July 17th. I have never done this type of workout before. I was very nervous to try it, but once I joined my mind was at ease on the first day. All the coaches are very supportive and encourage you to do the best that you can do. I have been going 4 times a week and I love it every time! Every workout feels different and it's so much better then a regular gym! I encourage everyone to try this gym, I know you will love it!

Overall experience

5

Location5

Cleanliness5

Equipment5

Coaching5

Atmosphere5

ALWAYS POSITIVE!!!

My home boxPosted 2 years ago by

The coaches are all extremely helpful and never look down on you. The equipment is in great shape and well kept and conditions a very clean. I am now addicted to cross fit thanks to Reckless, and don't think I will be able to go to any other gym!!!!!

Overall experience

5

Location5

Cleanliness5

Equipment5

Coaching5

Atmosphere5

Life changing!

My home boxPosted 2 years ago by

After having 2 kids I had better things to do than workout! That was until I checked Reckless CrossFit out! I instantly became addicted! The coaches are amazing! Not only do they teach me the correct form, they push me to do my best! I consider Reckless my second family! They truly care about every athlete that walks through the door! It makes it so much easier to workout in an environment where everyone cares about you and your progress! I have never felt so good about my health and self esteem as I have since I started at Reckless! I do not ever see myself leaving this amazing, life changing gym!!!

Overall experience

5

Location5

Cleanliness5

Equipment5

Coaching5

Atmosphere5

F*CKING AWESOME!!

My home boxPosted 2 years ago by

Ok first off this box earns 10 KBs instead of 5 because my experience I had at Reckless Crossfit was unbelieveable. I have only been doing crossfit for 4 months now but I would not be where I am right now athletically if it wasn't for this gym. The coaches are LITERALLY the best!! They were really good at helping me do every little thing right but at the same time push me to be the best I can be. I owe my life to these people who want to make people better whether it's for athletics or just to get in the best shape of their lives. I am telling anyone who lives in the Kendall County area and is reading this review right now, please check out Reckless Crossfit. I can promise you because these people will teach you and show how to live the lifestyle of Crossfit!

Overall experience

5

Location5

Cleanliness5

Equipment5

Coaching5

Atmosphere5

Amazing Coaching & Best Gym Ever!

My home boxPosted 2 years ago by

I started going to Reckless three months after I had a baby. I had a goal of losing the baby weight and fitting into my pre-baby clothes before I went back to work in August. Not only did I lose the baby weight, but I also lost more weight and two pants sizes in only three months! The coaches/trainers are TERRIFIC!! They motivate you and push you like no other gym I've ever been to. Also, the people that go there are AWESOME! There have been times when I did not want to finish a WOD, but some of the people that just completed the workout and the coaches/ trainers that were doing the workout with us, went and did the last round with me so I would finish. This gym is simply AWESOME, not because of the equipment or location, but because of the coaches who want to help you be the best you can be and because of the people that go there, because they are all there to help each other.

Overall experience

5

Location5

Cleanliness5

Equipment5

Coaching5

Atmosphere5

I love Reckless CrossFit!!

My home boxPosted 2 years ago by

I have been going to Reckless for almost 3 months now and I love it. I am doing things I never thought I would ever do in my life. I would never have tried the things I am doing if it were'nt for the coaches. The coaches are PHENOMENAL!! They are super encouraging and very involved with every member in the class. The wod's are challenging and tough to get through but the coaches are what will get you through it. If you have ever thought about doing CrossFit come check out Reckless CrossFit in Plano. If you are anything like me, you will be addicted after day 1. I don't see myself ever not being a member.......IT IS THAT GOOD!!!

Overall experience

5

Location5

Cleanliness5

Equipment5

Coaching5

Atmosphere5

Level 1 Certified?

My home boxPosted 2 years ago by

After several months of WODing at Reckless, I am tremendously happy there are other CF gyms I can go to out there.
Aren't all coaches supposed to be Level 1 Certified? According to Crossfit Coaches worldwide and Crossfit.com ALL coaches are supposed to be Level 1 certified to give ANY advice whatsoever to any person at their box! According to Reckless CF, there are currently only two Level 1 Certified coaches that 'coach' at the gym. The blonde young woman is an amazing CF athlete and truly loves Crossfit and it means everything to her. The other male coach/owner is where it drags the young blonde down.... The entire time I was there, he did not give a crap about how I did any of the movements and did not correct me when I made mistakes. If not for other Crossfit gyms that I visited, I would have quit Crossfit the first time I stepped foot in Reckless Crossfit.

Dont get me wrong, they have excellent equipment but the attitudes of the Coaches is NOT there! They are more concerned with their workouts when classes are going on! I cannot see how new Crossfitters can come in and workout for a couple months, become best friends with the Level 1 Coaches, and all of a sudden be able to teach other newbies Crossfit. This is completely wrong and against the foundation of Crossfit!

To Everyone out there, if you want to skate by and become a coach at Reckless Crossfit, all you have to do is get within the clique and you will magically be able to coach new people Crossfit!

No wonder many of their members do NOT work out there anymore, we (the smart ones) figured out the poor values and reputation that Reckless Crossfit has.

Overall experience

1

Location5

Cleanliness4

Equipment4

Coaching1

Atmosphere2

Good But Room For Improvement.

Posted 2 years ago by

Reckless Crossfit has the best equipment around. They have a great location in Plano IL. Their members create a great family atmosphere. They have a young blond coach who is just phenomenal. She cares about all her members to the fullest extent. The only problem I saw with this gym is that the one of owners named Josh was using foul language. So this wouldn't be a place I would bring my 2 children. In addition, He was more interested in what was on his computer then helping other members while classes were being run. There prices are great and are the lowest in the area!! Great place to become strong, fit and create a better you. Just a small couple fixes will make this place a tremendously awesome gym :)

Overall experience

3

Location5

Cleanliness4

Equipment5

Coaching2

Atmosphere1

This is what it is all about...

My home boxPosted 3 years ago by

Reckless Crossfit is home to knowledgeable coaches and supportive members. Need an extra push during your WOD, you got it. Need information on getting and staying healthy and strong, you got it. Want a place that will help you to achieve your goals and more, you got it! Nothing artificial here, just a genuine desire to be the best for its members. Thanks Reckless. Keep up the good work.

Overall experience

5

Location5

Cleanliness4

Equipment4

Coaching5

Atmosphere5

Quiet simply an amazing place filled with amazing people.

My home boxPosted 3 years ago by

I've been at Reckless for 6 weeks now and from the first day on it has been great. It doesn't matter if you are looking to get stronger, loose weight or just get healthier. The first time you step foot in the box you are welcomed like a long lost friend.

The programming is aggressive and the athletes help each other push their workouts to the limits. This year I'm working towards running my first marathon, and I no longer feel like I'm putting on mindless long run miles just for the sake of logging miles. I've cut my runs down significantly, while running longer and faster each time I go out. I'm significantly ahead of my running training as compared to last year. The programming and coaches at Reckless have not only helped to push my physical strength and endurance to its limits, but my mental will to its limits as well. I no longer wonder if I'll be able to complete the marathon, but now I wonder how fast I'll be able to do it. Thank you Reckless!

Overall experience

5

Location5

Cleanliness5

Equipment5

Coaching5

Atmosphere5

The Best Box family ever

My home boxPosted 3 years ago by

Reckless is one of the best Crossfit's I have ever been too. The coaches there are amazing and encourage you every step of the way. The atmosphere is awesome every athlete wants to see each other achieve at their highest potential. They always have the Best of the Best equipment mostly from Rogue Fitness. The gym is always clean and presented very well. They offer many different types of classes; yoga, squat clinic, dieting paleo, etc. They are one of the biggest distributors of Kill Cliff, so its always nice to have a cold Kill Cliff after a workout. If your looking for a place to kill workouts, change your lifestyle, and become part of a amazing family. Then Reckless Crossfit is the place for you!

Overall experience

5

Location5

Cleanliness5

Equipment5

Coaching5

Atmosphere5

reckless family

My home boxPosted 3 years ago by

I love crossfit for obvious reasons but I love reckless crossfit because of the people. The coaches really make the box feel like a huge family. Everyone feels welcomed and so many friendships develop through reckless. The coaches give all of their time, money, and effort to make the box amazing. New equipment is always coming in, new certifications being earned by the coaches, events and competitions regularly. There are three crossfit gyms that I know of that are closer to my house- I go the distance for a reason.

Overall experience

5

Location5

Cleanliness5

Equipment4

Coaching5

Atmosphere5

Reckless Rocks

My home boxPosted 3 years ago by

I was a personal trainer, and when I first heard about CrossFit, I wanted it!! Thank goodness a friend works out at Reckless and told me about how awesome not only the workouts are, but the owners and coaches as well! It is exaclty what I need for my workouts! The direction, the instruction and mostly the pushing to excell! Other personal trainers bash the "cult" but I love the community, the bonding, and the respect the members and coaches all have for each other! I have learned a lot about myself, and where my limits actually are compared to where I always thought they were. It's been a break through for me in my fitness level and diet beliefs! I love WOD's in this Box!! They can't be beat!! The coaches really want all of us to exceed ourselves! Thank you Reckless!!

Overall experience

5

Location5

Cleanliness4

Equipment5

Coaching5

Atmosphere5

Best Bang For Your Buck!

My home boxPosted 3 years ago by

The first time I walked into the Reckless CrossFit gym, I remember thinking to myself oh no what am I getting myself into now. Two months later I am so addicted to CrossFit that I can truly say that I LOVE it! It has not only helped me physically but mentally as well. I have learned not only an awesome way to get in shape but how to eat right and in making a lifestyle change. For not only me but for my family as well. A huge shout out to the awesome staff at Reckless CrossFit for always believing in me and for never ever giving up on me as well! You all ROCK!! And to all the CrossFitters at Reckless I have met so far, thank you to you as well for cheering me on and for making me a better person today. I can end this by saying you do get the best bang for your buck and I will always be loyal to CrossFit for LIFE! Thanks again Reckless! We will be seeing you:)

Overall experience

5

Location5

Cleanliness4

Equipment5

Coaching5

Atmosphere5

The perfect Box!!

Posted 3 years ago by

Our daughter joined Reckless about two weeks ago! As an average teenager it was hard for us to get her to do any type of exercise at home, so far she loves going to Reckless! The coaches are amazing!! Coach Josh and Brittany are super nice, the make you feel at home.Our daughter joining Reckless was the best decision we have ever made. We can't wait to see the athlete inside her.

Overall experience

5

Location5

Cleanliness5

Equipment5

Coaching5

Atmosphere5

Reckless is AWESOME...great

My home boxPosted 3 years ago by

Reckless is AWESOME...great coaching and members making everyday great to stop in and become a member. Been WODing there for 5 months and was hooked after foundations. All the coaches are very helpful and help everyone succeed! Stop by and check it out.

Overall experience

5

Location5

Cleanliness4

Equipment4

Coaching5

Atmosphere5

The Way Working Out Should Be:

My home boxPosted 3 years ago by

Over the last six years I have not been a stranger to training, workouts, and definitely not different "gyms", working in over 28 personally in multiple states. I share that not to talk about my personal experience, but to help describe how unique and special of a place Reckless really is. Starting off at Reckless I was at an "off" period, and a very out shape time in my life, with many life "stressors" detouring my health. In just a very short amount of time, there is no doubt in my mind that Reckless, and the crew they have there have helped me to regain physical condition,new personal bests in strength, and the energy, and focus I need to be able to perform my best at every capacity, at work, and at home as a father. The atmosphere, the comradery, the spirit of friendship, the community working in a group, but instead of "soldiers at war" it's members of all make ups keeping each other upbeat, positive, and encouraged despite the difficulty of the workouts EVERYTIME ! When I say i feel it's "The way Working Out Should Be" I mean myself I have enjoyed the process of becoming better physically and mentally, and I know that Reckless offers that same outlet for everyone involved young, old, in shape or out of shape, and that's what makes it more than another "gym" and a place where you will most definitely get more than physical results!

Overall experience

5

Location5

Cleanliness5

Equipment5

Coaching5

Atmosphere5

Review... More like a Life altering experience!!

My home boxPosted 3 years ago by

"Change Your Workout, Change Your Life". One of the first things you see on their website and Reckless CrossFit does nothing short of that. I have only been a member for almost a month and a half, I have dropped 10 pounds and went from a 34 to a 33 pant size.

Before I use to workout at your basic gym lifting weights and barely any cardio, using all the pretty machines, TV's all over the walls, mirrors at every angle, IPOD on, normal routine day after day. Eventually I got bored and just didn't care to go. When I first walked into Reckless, there was no machines, no TV's, no mirrors for you to pose in front of, just surrounded by 4 concrete walls filled with writings of workouts and having this nervous feeling of not knowing what to expect. It's like intimidation just smacked you right in the face!

I'm proud to say that I try to find as much time as I can to go to Reckless, even if I have to go in between work. I went from working out1-2 times every 2 weeks to 4 times a week. It is an amazing feeling to know what your body is capable of by going to the max every time, having the great coaches they do to not just yell at you, but to keep pushing you by encouraging you to do more, cheering you on, giving that extra push to show yourself that you have what it takes to achieve the fitness goal we all dream of. Achieve the health and life style we strive to want.

I appreciate everything Reckless has done for me in changing my workout and overall health completely around, like I have finally been put in the right direction. There staff is amazing and put every effort in to making Reckless a place we all want to be at. It is more than just a place to workout and go home. It's a place where you feel welcomed, appreciated, and like your part of a family that wants the same thin; great health, strong mentally and physically, confident, and most importantly ---- **BAD ASS**!! Thank you Reckless CrossFit!!!!

Overall experience

5

Location5

Cleanliness5

Equipment5

Coaching5

Atmosphere5

Reckless transformed me inside and out

My home boxPosted 3 years ago by

Reckless Crossfit came into my life at the perfect time. A year and a half ago I was in a serious accident that left me unable to do any sort of physical activity and exactly one year ago yesterday my brother passed away, so from all of this I was at my lowest point emotionally and physically. I started at Reckless because I had nothing to lose and since then I have ultimately become a better, more positive person inside and out. The trainers are always there encouraging you and being all that they can be. Giving up is never an option and at Reckless you never want to give up. The members encourage one another through out the workouts and continue to push each other to succeed. Reckless has changed me for the better.

Overall experience

5

Location5

Cleanliness4

Equipment4

Coaching5

Atmosphere5

Can't imagine any place better

My home boxPosted 3 years ago by

What I find difficult about Reckless CF, is explaining how awesome they are. I am a mom of 3 and in my upper 30's. Upper as in 40 right around the corner, but gonna still say 30's. Outside of the actual number thing, Reckless has me feeling in my 20's and stronger then I have ever been in my life. I have never been an athlete, until now. I am not super human, I am your total run of the mill mom. So this is the hard part to get across to people, we all have to start somewhere. Walking into Reckless you are gonna see awesome athletes. Don't let that discourage you, they all started somewhere, just a little before you.

The community aspect at Reckless CF is so cool. If you are looking to get in the best shape of your life and make friends on the way. Perfect!!! The crew at Reckless are supportive and true.

So you're probably thinking, too good of a review to be true. Well take it or leave it, more Reckless for me.

Overall experience

5

Location5

Cleanliness5

Equipment5

Coaching5

Atmosphere5

Just Like A Long Lost Friend

My home boxPosted 3 years ago by

I registered my 17 year-old daughter to Reckless CrossFit a couple weeks ago. Since the day we went to check the place out my wife and I immediately felt like we were part of the Reckless family. The staff treated us like their long lost friends, made us feel welcome. The location is perfect for us, we live about a mile away from the box! They have all the equipment that you need to complete your WODs and they just got another shipment with more equipment, so things are looking better and better everyday. The coaches are knowledgeable and they showcase what they teach.
I am really happy with what I have seen so far. I know one day my entire family will be joining the box, but for now, my daughter is enjoying the great atmosphere and the benefits of an amazing community.

Overall experience

5

Location5

Cleanliness5

Equipment5

Coaching5

Atmosphere5

Reckless CrossFit has literally

My home boxPosted 3 years ago by

Reckless CrossFit has literally changed my life. For the past few years I have struggled with back and leg pain, I have had spinal injections, physical therapy, been on medications, had accupunture and have seen a chiropractor. I was becoming depressed and I needed to make a change. About three months ago I did something I never thought I could do I started doing crossfit, I'm fifty and at the time had zero muscle tone so needless to say I was terrified! The coaches and the members made me feel so comfortable that after a few visits I was addicted. The coaches are the most dedicated, caring determined individuals you will ever meet, I am so blessed to be part of such an amazing community. After only three months, I am stronger, happier and more confident than ever before, I still have my pain but I've learned to not let it control me and I have muscles now, woo hoo!! At the age of fifty I'm in the best shape of my entire life!
3 minutes ago ยท LikeUnlike.

Overall experience

5

Location5

Cleanliness5

Equipment5

Coaching5

Atmosphere5

It's Not Just a Gym It's a Family

My home boxPosted 3 years ago by

Reckless Crossfit is amazing, its so much more than a gym membership to me its more like a home away from home and even though i have only been working out there for a month i concider everyone there like family because they help motivate me and push me to do my best. like last night i had one more 400 meter run left for my work out and a fellow crossfitter even though he was done ran with to keep me going, and that is what Reckless Crissfit is about and why i love my gym so much

Overall experience

5

Location5

Cleanliness5

Equipment5

Coaching5

Atmosphere5

IF YOU WANT MORE YOU HAVE TO DO MORE!

My home boxPosted 3 years ago by

In late December of 2011 I was looking for something new to spice up my workouts. At the time I was probably in the worst shape of my life and had become just lazy overall. As I was driving to a work event I spotted Reckless CrossFit and contacted them. After coming in to do my 1st 5-4-3-2-1 I instantly became addicted to CrossFit & fell in love with the coaches and athletes at Reckless! It is a fun filled family community in which I have always felt welcome & where everyone is always cheering you on. The motto at Reckless CrossFit is 'IF YOU WANT MORE YOU HAVE TO DO MORE'...and when I am there I always want to live by this mantra because it has become my 2nd home. After crossfiting at Reckless with the amazing coaching staff for just under 3 months I am in the best shape of my life and am stronger, sleeker, faster, and a better athlete overall...yes I said athlete...who would have thought that I'd ever be an athlete again after high school! Thank you Reckless Crew for always showing me love and constantly pushing me to do more and be better! AMAZING!! =)

Overall experience

5

Location5

Cleanliness5

Equipment4

Coaching5

Atmosphere5

Reckless Crossfit LOVE!

My home boxPosted 3 years ago by

I am proud to call Reckless Crossfit home. Yes, that's right...I said home. It's more than just a gym. It's a community. A family of athletes (and trainers!) with the same expectations and goals in mind. The extremely passionate and knowledgeable trainers provide the perfect balance of patience, excitement, and encouragement. At Reckless, it's never just "get in/get out." Every person is there to push you past your self-set limits before, during, and after the WOD. The environment is always so positive and supportive. Hands down the BEST place to crossfit!

Overall experience

5

Location5

Cleanliness5

Equipment4

Coaching5

Atmosphere5

I had been searching for

My home boxPosted 3 years ago by

I had been searching for "something" to get me back into the groove of working out again. I came to Reckless in July 2011 for the Free first class and new immediately it was what I had been searching for! My entire view on working out changed, I no longer wanted to measure my results by weight loss, I wanted to measure my results by performing better and becoming stronger. As Reckless would say "Strong is the new skinny!" The camaraderie between everyone is what I love most about this box! Everyone wants to see each other progress and succeed!! Our coaches are knowledgable and motivating. Their passion for Crossfit is shown everyday in their efforts at the box. I feel stronger both physically and mentally every time I leave Reckless and that is what is most important to me!!

Overall experience

5

Location5

Cleanliness4

Equipment5

Coaching5

Atmosphere5

Reckless CrossFit Rocks!

My home boxPosted 3 years ago by

Reckless is more than just a gym, it's definitly a community. It's amazing to have such an awesome gym in the tiny little neck of woods where we are. People even come from bigger cities that have their own affliates just to train with us at Reckless. I have made more progress than I could have imagained in the time I've been at Reckless thanks to some truely devoted coaches and a ton of support from everyone in the gym!

Overall experience

5

Location5

Cleanliness4

Equipment4

Coaching5

Atmosphere5

©2014. ReviewsForTime.com
CrossFit is a registered trademark of CrossFit, Inc. | Legal Statement

Login

Already a member? Please enter your email address and password to log in.

Not yet a member?

Join now »

Registration

We will not sell or spam your email address
Verify Must be at least 4 characters long
×