PETN1.66 CrossFit

5
based on 6 reviews

Location5Perfectly safe

Cleanliness5Spotless

Equipment4.2Nicely Equipped

Coaching5Superb

Atmosphere5Totally got the warm & fuzzies

6649 Garland Drive
Warrenton, Virginia 20186
United States

Web:

MAP

Reviews

Leading By Example

My home boxPosted 7 years ago by

I am so very thankful and lucky that Sandy & Rick went after their dreams...and succeeded. I watched them dream about owning a box to actually doing it. That type of love, passion, commitment and perseverance shine through each and every day at Petn1.66 Crossfit.

The "Crossfit Lifestyle" is their life and they are passing that along to all of us at the box. They have lit a fire under us all - and not just in our athletic abilities, but our health and our lifestyle. Sand and Rick are tireless in their efforts to educate us on proper form, anatomy and nutrition/Paleo - if we have questions...they have answers and if they don't, they find it.

The atmosphere at the box is nothing short of amazing - the support, love and friendship among us all is true and strong.

We all have dreams and goals and are reaching them.
We all want to live a healthier lifestyle and we are achieving that.
We all work on our form each time we are at the box and we are mastering it.
We have gained strength in our bodies and mind and will continue to KICK ASS AND TAKE NAMES!!!!

WHY?

Because Rick and Sandy lead by example with a love an passion for Crossfit and for us that is unlike no other.

Bottom Line - OUR BOX ROCKS!!

Overall experience

5

Location5

Cleanliness5

Equipment4

Coaching5

Atmosphere5

PETN1.66 is an example that other CrossFit gyms should follow.

My home boxPosted 7 years ago by

The first time I did CrossFit was about 7 years ago. A friend introduced me to it and I instantly feel in love. The intensity, the changes in my body and the 1:30 off of my per mile pace were all things that kept me coming back. Unfortunately I also had the most injuries ever. I accepted it as a by product of the lifestyle and wasn't willing to give it up.

After a couple of years the gym closed down and I was lost. For the next several years I worked out on my own. Of course it wasn't with same intensity or results, but hey at least I wasn't injured all the time. I checked out other CrossFit's but they just weren't the right fit for me.

Then one day a friend told me about a new CrossFit gym in a neighboring town and that's how I found Rick and Sandy and my life changed. I don't know how to explain how amazing, intelligent, motivating and passionate these two people are. I have learned more from them in 8 months than I did in my personal training certification. They don't want you to just be a good at CrossFit, they want you to be a smart athlete. Smart about body mechanics, smart about nutrition. They taught me that being a crossfitter doesn't mean constant injuries and being tired all the time. Good coaching and education prevents injuries all the while still exceeding your own expectations of your body. It doesn't matter your age or ability. That's what separates PETN1.66 from other CrossFit's. They are an example of why and how anyone can do CrossFit.






I

Overall experience

5

Location5

Cleanliness5

Equipment4

Coaching5

Atmosphere5

Simply the best

My home boxPosted 7 years ago by

I am new to CrossFit, but have worked with Sandy Ervin for four years. I went to her when I was diagnosed with fibromyalgia, heavily medicated and generally feeling fatigued. In addition to the fibro, I am a type 2 diabetic who had just been put on metformin and one who suffered from high cholesterol (over 250). I was miserably overweight, and completely deconditioned. Sandy took on the challenge and overcame my poor sense of balance and my assertions that I could not do squats, could not run, could not jump and had bad knees. My diet was completely horrendous, and somehow I found myself confessing to her all the awful things I was consuming, yet I was wondering why I wasn't losing any weight when I was scarcely eating. Fast forward to June 2011. Sandy told me she was leaving the employ of the gym to which I had followed her, and was opening a CrossFit gym. She explained to me what it would be like, and invited me to join there. After my membership in the gym she left expired, I did not renew and decided to follow her once again. I quickly found out how different CrossFit is from everything I had ever experienced previously in an exercise facility. I had always wanted to work out one-on-one with her, but soon found that working out with others where we are all doing the same movements, but with different weights according to our abilities had its attractions. I have found such encouragement and support with all these folks, it truly is like a family! I hope that I provide that same encouragement and support to my fellow CrossFitters. Make no mistake, we DO THE WORK. So, after8 months of CrossFit, how am I doing? I've adopted Paleo, and have lost a total of about 20 pounds; I am off my diabetic medicine, off my cholesterol medicine, as my last readings were in the lower levels of the normal range!! AND, the medication for the fibromyalgia has also been changed to a lower dose, as my pain levels are diminished. I run, I do squats and I jump rope; I've even done box jumps. What else can I say? Without Sandy and Rick, and the others with whom I DO THE WORK, my life would not be as healthy or as enjoyable. And hopefully, it will keep me out of the nursing home for many more years!

Overall experience

5

Location5

Cleanliness5

Equipment5

Coaching5

Atmosphere5

Recipe for Success

My home boxPosted 7 years ago by

I remember the day I was introduced to Crossfit. I was at one of the local gyms in the area being led around on a tour and in it there was a personal training room with glass windows. Through those glass windows there were 5-6 people working their tails off at the hands of now Petn1.66 owner Sandy Ervin. I had no idea what it was but I knew I wanted in…it was the best decision I had made in a long time.
Fast forward 8 months, the Petn1.66 box has become my home away from home and the people there and trainers have become my extended family. The box is led by Sandy Ervin and Rick Burrell, two of the most “functional” trainers you will ever meet. They bring both passion and knowledge of the industry and how it equates to a better life and a better you if you commit. They each bring a different dynamic so there is never a question that goes unanswered. Sandy has been a personal trainer for years and so understands the evolution of the fitness and nutrition industry. If you ask her she will tell you she has “made all the mistakes,” of previous fitness training methods and nutritional theories. She also brings to the table years of practical experience: she is a wife, mother and athlete so understands the challenges we as wives, mothers, and athletes face ourselves.
Rick is former special forces military who is all about accountability. If you have a goal he will give you all the tools you need to accomplish that goal but holds you accountable for getting the work done. He is also extremely versed in mobility and will spend countless hours working on it with you…many days you leave feeling better physically then when you walked into the box just from his mobility training.
They also go the extra mile to keep you informed. They don’t just tell you to do something they tell you WHY is works and science behind it. I recently learned that I was pregnant and within one day I had more information on Crossfit and pregnancy than I could read in one sitting. During our Paleo Challenge we were given every tool imaginable from basic information to recipes and general motivation to succeed. Daily we have information spoon fed to us on movement, mobility and anatomy through Facebook groups that have been set up for those of us with questions.
Petn1.66 is a breeding ground for success. Whether you are the stay at home mother that wants to take off a few pounds so you can run around with your kids or the hardcore athlete that wants to make it to the games you will get what you need from Petn1.66, all you have to do is show up and do the work. They have a philosophy at the box that basically says: you can work as hard or as light as you want here but wherever you fall in line, own it, make it yours and make no excuses for it, just do the work and hold yourself accountable.

Overall experience

5

Location5

Cleanliness5

Equipment4

Coaching5

Atmosphere5

PETN1.66 - AWESOME! And Not Just for Young People

My home boxPosted 7 years ago by

My wife Ana and I have been members of PETN1.66 Crossfit since it began last summer, but we have known Rick and Sandy long before that. Sandy was our trainer at two previous gyms, and the major reason we changed gyms was to continue to have her as our trainer. When we found out she and Rick were starting a CrossFit box, it was an easy decision to join.

We have been on and off the roller coaster of diet and exercise regimens over the years. We have piles of diet books, unused fitness devices, and other evidence of our less-than-successful pursuits. We can honestly now say that CrossFit is working for us, and the primary reason is Rick and Sandy's knowledgeable and thorough coaching. They truly believe in the program along with an integrated diet which has helped both of us be in the best shape we've been in years.

Besides everything we've learned about form and technique, we've also learned much about ourselves. Both Ana and I never expected to be doing some of the things we do, and certainly not at our ages. Rick and Sandy's passion for what they do give us the confidence and strength to reach beyond our comfort zones. Being the most senior members of the PETN1.66 Crossfit Box perhaps gives us a different perspective. We know first hand what older age can sometimes feel like. However, in all my years, I've never been much of a morning person, even when I was in the military. Today, we feel the motivation to get up and get a WOD in before going to work. The energy that we pick up from the WOD and the encouragement from the other box members who constantly cheer us on, is something both Ana and I take with us the rest of the day. The box members are totally fun, sometimes crazy, and always on your side, no matter what your individual capabilities might be. We have never experienced this type of camaraderie anywhere else.

If you had told us 10 years ago that we would belong to an elite fitness program and would even be signed up for the CrossFit Games Open, we would have said you were nuts. Yet here we are today! Ana and I may never be near the top of any leader board, but WE ARE ON THE BOARD!!! thank you, PETN1.66 and thank you Rick and Sandy!
We love you guys! Harvey & Ana L.

Overall experience

5

Location5

Cleanliness5

Equipment4

Coaching5

Atmosphere5

PETN1.66 is where it's at!

My home boxPosted 7 years ago by

To put it simply, PETN1.66 sets the bar. In fitness, in a CrossFit journey & in many aspects of life, in general. Even as a 'newbie', I am confident in saying you will be hard pressed to find a box to match the caliber of PETN1.66. The financial investment I make in myself to be a part of it almost seems like a giveaway compared to everything Rick & Sandy invest in each of us - as athletes, as students and as people - on a daily basis.

I have only been officially part of the box for about 8 weeks and feel as though I have learned more about my body, my abilities, my potential and life in general than the 2.5 years of nursing school and 6+ years of a training/running program combined. It's not just about showing up and getting in a hard-core WOD or five, here. Every day they each go the extra mile to make sure we are not only developing the right technique and growth process- but educating us as to HOW and WHY, non-stop along the way. You will never walk in to that box as 'just a client'. From Day 1, you are an integral part of the development process. Each WOD is documented in pictures, background reading material and video snippets so everyone can not only observe/learn from/tweak points of performance, but also cheer & celebrate milestones and achievements of all sizes. From the equipment to the programming to the atmosphere, they are beyond-committed to advancing, innovating and growing the people and CrossFit as lifestyle.

I don't think there is an area of life this crew isn't highly educated in, which speaks volumes in itself. But it is their PASSION for it all, that truly sets them apart from any other box. Rick, Sandy & the entire box put their 'blood, sweat & energy' in to this and us daily, making it easy to want to follow suit. Challenging our limits is just as important as how we are recovering and rebuilding. Every time we even think "I can't", they're out to prove we can! When you become part of this box, it's not just a membership or a team affiliation. You immediately become part of a strong, growing family that will make you in to more you thought you could be. Being a part of PETN1.66 is not something you 'have to do', it's something you WANT to do. Period.

You want to see the future and potential of CrossFit AND yourself? ...PETN1.66 is where it's at.

Overall experience

5

Location5

Cleanliness5

Equipment4

Coaching5

Atmosphere5

©2018. ReviewsForTime.com
CrossFit is a registered trademark of CrossFit, Inc. | Legal Statement

Login

Already a member? Please enter your email address and password to log in.

Not yet a member?

Join now »

Registration

We will not sell or spam your email address
Verify Must be at least 4 characters long
×