CrossFit Sydney

4.7
based on 14 reviews

Location4.6Somewhat safe

Cleanliness3.8Neutral

Equipment4.8Nicely Equipped

Coaching4.9Very Knowledgable

Atmosphere4.8Somewhat friendly

32 McCauley Street
Alexandria 2015
Australia

Web:

MAP

Reviews

Possibly the "healthiest" & most complete CrossFit box in Sydney!

My home boxPosted 2 years ago by

The GOOD: committed coaches, excellent fees & additional services, large number of sessions, massive amounts of training tools & space facilities (e.g. Functional, Oly lift, Stretch, Core, etc.), hot showers! The BAD: no background music, showers to improve. =) CONCLUSION: Possibly the "healthiest" & most complete CrossFit box in Sydney!

Overall experience

5

Location5

Cleanliness3

Equipment5

Coaching5

Atmosphere4

Great atmosphere!!!

My home boxPosted 2 years ago by

I only decided to give CF Sydney a one month trial. Nine months later, I am fitter than I’ve ever been in my life. But more importantly, I look forward to working out rather than it being a chore. The workouts are constantly varied, which keeps it interesting. Learning new skills and hitting a personal best is very rewarding. All the trainers are knowledgeable, encouraging and unbelievably friendly. The gym is big and well equipped, but the supportive atmosphere and friendliness of the place is what makes it a stand out. Five stars!

Overall experience

5

Location5

Cleanliness5

Equipment5

Coaching5

Atmosphere5

ALANA

My home boxPosted 2 years ago by

Crossfit sydney is an awesome gym, I have trained at many gyms before but i have never got the kind of coaching and guidence that Crossfit Sydneys crew have given me.

The trainers know thier shit, they are focused and super friendly.

Crossfit Sydney has improved my overall fitness and transformed my body shape in the last 6 months more than 5 years of training in gyms. Crossfit Sydney encourages me to partake in alot of exersises i would never usually do and its always challenging and loads of fun.

Crossfit Sydney had inspired me and motivated me to keep on working on my fitness and to keep pushing myself and im achieving things with my fitness i would of never thought possible. I'm so grateful to ALL the staff that have made this possible.

Crossfit Sydney is a must, try it once and you will be addicted!!!! :)

Overall experience

5

Location5

Cleanliness4

Equipment5

Coaching5

Atmosphere5

Adrian

My home boxPosted 2 years ago by

Crossfit is a fantastic holistic strength and condition program. However it isn't perfect. No program is but it does come damn close. I believe Crossfit Sydney and Head Coach Andrew Cattermole set themselves apart from other Crossfit boxes and mainstream gyms as well. Crossfit is used in the way it is intended as a fantastic open source great resource. Things are done different here as compared with other boxes or gyms I have trained at:
- No music,
- no shirts off,
- dedicated areas to stretching, core, lifting and endurance
- Main site is the staple WOD but you can focus on strength with the Catalyst program or endurance with the Crossfit Endurance WOD.
- The focus is in the coaching and programming only to meet specific objectives.

Andrew makes no secret of taking the best of open source programming. However where required he adapts it to meet the client’s needs and objectives. I find this very unique.

Separately he has not only introduced so many Australian fire breathers to Crossfit but also (and in my opinion more importantly) introduced many people to Crossfit who have gone on to open their own boxes and become prominent Crossfit boxes in Australia (and the world) but also make the world a healthier place.

On a personal level Andrew has been fundamental in rehabilitating my spine me after spinal injury. Stretching and core work were my staples for a long time before adding the intensity back in. He has brought me from a gun ho arrogant but weak crossfitter to a reasonable athlete at the fittest point in my life.

I strongly believe I will continue to improve with the the coaching and guidance of him and his fellow coaching stadd

Andrew has also invested significant time in recruiting quality coaching staff in Dan, Oli, Kat, Haz and Liz, each of whom bring a unique coaching style, passion and knowledge base about matters relating to fitness, human performance, anatomical and biomechanical deficiencies and nutrition.

It’s not uncommon to have multiple coaches running the floor with three sessions running concurrently.

Crossfit Sydney is a heaving, pumping box with great members and a must visit even if it’s just for a single workout.

Thanks CFSyd

Overall experience

5

Location5

Cleanliness5

Equipment5

Coaching5

Atmosphere5

Totes Amazeballs

My home boxPosted 3 years ago by

CF Sydney is a great place for beginners and pros. The Coaches are switched on and have time for each and every member. Best of all, the members that come to CF Sydney are the loveliest bunch of cats.
:)

Overall experience

5

Location5

Cleanliness3

Equipment4

Coaching5

Atmosphere5

Crossfit Sydney - worth a visit

My home boxPosted 3 years ago by

I trained at CrossFit Sydney for a few weeks when I started crossfitting. I was initially really nervous being new to CrossFit, but the whole experience was absolutely fantastic.
I found the coaches to be really knowledgeable, pushed me, but also made sure that I was focussing on getting my technique correct - really important at the beginning. The atmosphere at the box is really friendly, and the other CrossFitters were really welcoming as well. Even though it's friendly, people are still really focussed on getting results and beating their previous WODs - I found it to be a really good balance. Was also really impressed with the level of knowledge the trainers showed in terms of their physiology and overall training approach. There was a lack of ego's around as well, which was definitely appreciated - think anything else would have put me off!

Would definitely recommend, some earlier morning start times would be great, as I found finishing training at 7am started to push me for time to get to work (this was the earliest session when I was going).

Overall experience

4

Location4

Cleanliness4

Equipment4

Coaching5

Atmosphere5

Top Notch!

My home boxPosted 3 years ago by

This is a great place - caters for the spectrum - beginners to athletes. The staff are friendly and easy to approach, classes are run regularly and even though it can be busy you can still get one on one tuition and assistance. Only downer is the bathrooms could be cleaner (they are a little dirty but not feral) and have hand towels.

Overall experience

4

Location4

Cleanliness4

Equipment5

Coaching4

Atmosphere5

This is an awesome place to train

My home boxPosted 3 years ago by

This is an awesome place to train and learn. The staff are always friendly, approachable, knowledgeable. The gym is dedicated to improvement in all areas of health and fitness. The encouragement and support I have received have motivated me to levels I did not think were achievable and have me aiming much higher still. Great work CrossFit Sydney.

Overall experience

5

Location5

Cleanliness4

Equipment5

Coaching5

Atmosphere5

The only place to be

My home boxPosted 3 years ago by

This box has it all; great coaches, atmosphere, equipment, attitude, knowledge, support, and very important great members that make working out lots of fun!Working out @ CFS is simply the best!!! Thanks CFS!

Overall experience

5

Location4

Cleanliness4

Equipment5

Coaching5

Atmosphere5

Enjoyable

My home boxPosted 3 years ago by

The gym is spacious, nice people, The Coaches are helpful and knowledgeable.
Working out at CF Sydney is enjoyable, I am always looking forward for the next visit.
Anyone who never done CrossFit before, I highly recommended you to visit this gym, because this gym is AWESOME:)

Overall experience

5

Location5

Cleanliness3

Equipment5

Coaching5

Atmosphere5

As serious as you want it to be.

My home boxPosted 3 years ago by

Crossfit Sydney is a great, friendly crossfit box suitable for absolute novices through to the next Rich Froning. Like I said in the title, CF Sydney can be as serious (or not) as you want it to be.

Owner and coaches are talented, knowledgable, and above all friendly. The whole gym is a community rather than a competition.

Not the kind of place that's going to pump death metal with shirts off, so if that's what you're after, it's probably not the place for you. Don't get me wrong, the trainers and athletes here are as fit and technically gifted as any other box in Sydney, they just don't have the same egos.

I've been crossfitting for over 3 years, and most of that time has been at CF Sydney. Great gym!

Overall experience

4

Location4

Cleanliness3

Equipment4

Coaching5

Atmosphere5

a great box!

My home boxPosted 3 years ago by

the coaching is great - very supportive and encouraging with a focus on technique that makes me want to continue challenging myself. the box is full of solid equipment, big open space, and there is good coffee nearby ;)

Overall experience

5

Location4

Cleanliness4

Equipment5

Coaching5

Atmosphere5

Awesome big box, fun, friendly, awesome coaches!

My home boxPosted 3 years ago by

- Have been to other boxes where they spend almost no time on technique.
- Have also been to other boxes that have very minimal WODs in the mornings and the evenings, makes you wonder whether they're really committed to Crossfit.
- Crossfit Sydney are well setup with coaching staff, plenty of space, well organised and heaps of sessions to suit my timetable.

Overall experience

5

Location5

Cleanliness4

Equipment5

Coaching5

Atmosphere4

CF Sydney, J'aime !!!

My home boxPosted 3 years ago by

If I compare this box to the other boxes I visited and the kind of box I can find in my country (France) I will cry when I have to leave !!!
The equipment is complete and the place itself is quite big but the best is the trainers : professional, supportive and committed (and also funny).

Overall experience

4

Location5

Cleanliness3

Equipment5

Coaching5

Atmosphere4

©2014. ReviewsForTime.com
CrossFit is a registered trademark of CrossFit, Inc. | Legal Statement

Login

Already a member? Please enter your email address and password to log in.

Not yet a member?

Join now »

Registration

We will not sell or spam your email address
Verify Must be at least 4 characters long
×