CrossFit Moorabbin

4.9
based on 12 reviews

Location5Perfectly safe

Cleanliness4.6Fairly Clean

Equipment4.3Nicely Equipped

Coaching4.9Very Knowledgable

Atmosphere5Totally got the warm & fuzzies

16 Cochranes Rd
Moorabbin 3189
Australia

Web:

MAP

Reviews

CrossFit Moorabbin, home away from home.

My home boxPosted 2 years ago by

I looked for a while for a place that I could train to build some strength and fitness to improve my performance in other sports. I tried several regular gyms in my area, and every time was repulsed by the experience. “Oh sure, that’ll be $XX a week for the rest of forever and you can come in and do whatever you feel like”... which was more often than not just flailing unenthusiastically at some weights and some pull ups until boredom or injury defeated me.

I walked in the doors of CrossFit Moorabbin having heard amazing things about the concept of CrossFit, but sceptically expecting nothing different to my previous experiences at the local gyms.

Boy was I wrong.

The CFM box is close to major roads so getting there is super easy, but not so close as to be a hassle during the Workout Of the Day. It’s big, clean and quite well equipped. I ticked 4/5 for equipment because, while they have everything necessary for very effective work outs, I know that the coaches are continually searching for and purchasing more and more equipment to provide even better resources for their training programs and post-WOD recovery.
This brings me on to the coaches and other ‘CrossFitters’. Kyle and Matt are really down to earth and knowledgeable people. They constantly prowl the box when anyone is exercising, be it during a WOD or even if they are just practicing a movement on their own, they make sure actions are being done correctly. Kyle and Matt’s constant supervision is an absolute must for my own training. It ensures I won’t come into any unnecessary injury which could see me sidelined from work, or worse, the other sports that I love. They provide all the benefits of personal training; one on one coaching, ensuring proper technique, advice, and loads of motivation, with the benefits of group sessions as well; supportive atmosphere, camaraderie and a good laugh.

I spoke of camaraderie. You can’t avoid it in CFM. You will be sucked in to a swirling vortex of support and emotion as everyone around you cheers and knuckle-bumps every little victory as if they were achieving it with you. I was lucky enough to take this camaraderie to another level as several members (including Kyle and Matt!) of CFM destroyed the Tough Mudder event in Melbourne. No man (or woman!) was left behind over 20km of mud covered obstacles. It was one of the best experiences I’ve had.

My original plan was only to go twice, maybe three times, a week to CFM but this didn’t last long at all. For the past few weeks I’ve been to CFM five and sometimes 6 days a week, because I love being there and joining in on the WODs. It isn’t a regular gym; it’s an exciting and enjoyable place to work out. You’ll break personal records, challenge your own limits and find yourself totally addicted to the WODs and even more so to the support and friendship you get along the way.

CrossFit Moorabbin is my new home away from home.

(PS I reviewed again because it didn't link my previous review with my account)

Overall experience

5

Location5

Cleanliness5

Equipment4

Coaching5

Atmosphere5

Hooked!

My home boxPosted 2 years ago by

The owners of CrossFit Moorabbin, Matt and Kyle, have helped me achieve things and reach goals I never thought possible. I gave CrossFit a try after having previously trained with Matt. The beginning was very trying. It was lots of hard work and lots of pain but constant encouragement and support form Matt and Kyle kept me working hard. 6 months later, I'm hooked. To say I'm addicted is an understatement!
From my first day there, both trainers have been nothing but supportive and encouraging, though constantly pushing me to be better and do better, whether it be to lift more weight or push for a better WOD time. They are my first point of contact for anything related to health, nutrition and exercise. Both Matt and Kyle are extremely knowledgable, informative and experienced to handle anything. They are the most friendly and approachable trainers you could ever hope for.
I could never go back to training at a "normal gym". CrossFit is hard, painful and it constantly pushed me to achieve more. But, it has given me unimaginable results. I am in the best shape of my life. I am fitter, stronger, I have more energy and I'm more mentally alert than ever before. For someone with no sporting background and very little fitness, I have come a long way with the support I have received.
If you are thinking of trying out CrossFit, look no further than CrossFit Moorabbin as it is a clean and well equipped box, run by fantastic trainers, in a non-intimidating environment.

Overall experience

5

Location5

Cleanliness5

Equipment5

Coaching5

Atmosphere5

My addiction started in October

My home boxPosted 2 years ago by

My addiction started in October 2011, okay not my first session but I became obsessed with this contagious training known as Crossfit. I moved to Crossfit Moorabbin in December unaware of the dramatic changes I was yet to encounter. Kyle & Matt's structured exercise programs (WODS) have challenged me to become mentally and physically stronger which has improved my overall fitness very quickly. They’ve helped me understand the strength component side of exercise and taught me different weight lifting movements that I now have more respect for and knowledge. This year I competed in the Crossfit Open games comp that ranked me in the top 100 placing 88th for females in Australia. Without Kyle & Matt I wouldn't have managed that result, However I look forward to further success training at CFM. moooooooo

Overall experience

5

Location5

Cleanliness4

Equipment4

Coaching5

Atmosphere5

Results Guaranteed

My home boxPosted 2 years ago by

I'd checked out a number of boxes before deciding on Crossfit Moorabbin. Each time I went to a new box I'd train with the criteria below in mind, and this is what ultimately led to my decision to join the team at Crossfit Moorabbin.

Atmosphere: As a number of other reviews have pointed out, the atmosphere at Crossfit Moorabbin is second to none. Walking into a new box can be an intimidating experience but the apprehension is quickly lost when you're greeted at the door by Matt, Kyle or any one of the members who take time out of a WOD to introduce themselves. Unlike other boxes I've trained at, Matt and Kyle have fostered a strong team ethos among all of the members - this is no clearer than at the end of a gruelling WOD when people, barely able to get to their feet, manage to crawl around to everyone else to give them a fist bump or a pat on the back. Refreshingly, there's no sign of an elitist attitude in the more established athletes at the gym that I've found elsewhere; rather they use their experience in assisting newer team members. You're guaranteed to make new friends at Crossfit Moorabbin who are sure to push you to your physical and mental limits as they battle through every WOD with you.

Coaching: Matt and Kyle are excellent coaches who draw on years of experience to get the best out of all of their members. On a personal level they are both friendly, funny and welcoming while on a professional level they're highly technical and knowledgeable. Their ability to break down complex movements, e.g. the snatch, into simple progressions in order to achieve the best possible technique is what sets them apart. They're excellent at communicating instruction, have got a keen eye for correct technique and are extremely motivating. What I love is that, unlike other boxes, Matt and Kyle won't kick you out or ignore you as soon as the class is over, rather they allow and assist you to work on your weaknesses. The individual attention they've paid me and other members during and after class has been critical to our marked improvement in such a short period of time.

Programming: My biggest concern prior to starting Crossfit was the workout programming. The seemingly random exercises that had been thrown together made me question how much benefit could really be gained when my primary concern was to build strength and size. Fortunately, these concerns were eliminated as soon as I arrived at Crossfit Moorabbin as Matt and Kyle have gotten their programming down to a fine art. A session typically involves a strength component, e.g. deadlift, push jerk etc., followed by a WOD. What I enjoy about their programming is that it caters to both those seeking to build size and those looking to improve their cardiovascular capacity. Matt and Kyle ensure that the WODs are logical, often incorporating skills we had developed in the earlier part of the session, as well as appropriately scalable for all levels of athlete. The WODs invariably push you to your limit but the sense of achievement you feel in completing a session is like nothing else.

Results: Since starting at Crossfit Moorabbin I have achieved a level of fitness that I didn't think was possible. I've gotten significantly stronger in all aspects of fitness and I no longer run out of breath jogging 100 metres. Through Matt and Kyle's excellent programming and instruction every member at the box has exclaimed at one point or another how much stronger they feel or how much weight they've lost and seeing everyone PR on a weekly basis is by no means uncommon.

I highly recommend Crossfit Moorabbin to anyone interested in getting the best out of themselves.

Overall experience

5

Location5

Cleanliness5

Equipment5

Coaching5

Atmosphere5

The Best!

My home boxPosted 2 years ago by

My boyfriend put me on to Crossfit Moorabbin a couple of months ago, and I haven't looked back since.
I have so much fun whenever I go to train, miss working out when I am away.
Every person there is so supportive of one another and embraces the Crossfit spirit!
Crossfit Moorabbin is the best gym to work out in!

Overall experience

5

Location5

Cleanliness5

Equipment5

Coaching5

Atmosphere5

Crossfit Box for the South Eastern Suburbs

My home boxPosted 2 years ago by

CrossFit Moorabbin's coaches are knowledgeable, friendly and most importantly fun and encouraging. I have been going since December 2011 and there were not one time that i wasnt excited to get there and see what they (hell) have awaiting for me. And as much as it hurts its equally rewarding. But another major factor that i would recommend CrossFit Moorabbin to everyone is the crew there are just ... whats the word ... um... AWESOME!!!!
I think that pretty much sums it all up!!!!

Overall experience

5

Location5

Cleanliness4

Equipment4

Coaching5

Atmosphere5

I love CrossFit Moorabbin!

My home boxPosted 2 years ago by

I was going to a normal gym three times a week and I thought I was reasonably fit. My brother was going to this thing called 'CrossFit' and coming home every day like he had just gotten his arse kicked = I was fascinated.

He told me he had a free pass so I thought I'd give it a go. BEST DECISION EVER! In my life, I have never completed such challenging as well as rewarding exercise. My body is changing for the better (toning up in every area) as I keep doing workouts that continuously challenge me. I can't believe I wasted my time at a normal gym for so many years!!!

The guys (Matt & Kyle) are awesome too! They are always willing to help and will always be there to push you to your max. It also has a great atmosphere - you get to know everyone who goes and end up cheering everyone through their workouts, so much fun! :)

In conclusion, I would never go anywhere else ever again. Ever.

<3<3<3 CrossFitMoorabbin <3<3<3

Overall experience

5

Location5

Cleanliness5

Equipment4

Coaching5

Atmosphere5

Crossfit Moorabbin achieves results!

My home boxPosted 2 years ago by

I never went looking for crossfit or had any idea what it was about, but decided to give it a go when Matt left the gym he was training me at. I was a little reluctant to say the least but looking back, joining Crossfit Moorabbin, was the best decision I made health and fitness wise.
Matt and Kyle are fantastic, knowledgable and very patient trainers who made the transition to crossfit easy. They never gave up and were very supportive and encouraging. They were also not afraid to tell me that I could do better and that I should push myself and 'try' harder - everything that I would expect from good tariners. My level of fitness is the best it has ever been and as a bonus I have managed to loose some unwanted kilos.
Training at Crossfit Moorabbin isnt' easy - but who wants easy anyway? From the strength programme to the daily WODs - I am pushed, challenged and motivated to do better in every workout. In no time, I found myself doing things that I would never have imagined and have achieved some amazing results. All thanks to the supportive and nuturing environment at Crossfit Moorabbin.
Matt and Kyle always supervise the training to ensure correct technique and form is used. Taking short cuts is not an option because they are always watching, even when you think they're not - a sign that you are part of a caring environment who are interested in developing your strength and fitness.
Crossfit Moorabbin is no ordinary gym - it's a fun and friendly environment where you will always be encouraged to give it a go and supported no matter what level of fitness you are at. Matt and Kyle are easy going and friendly and are always more than happy to help and share their knowledge on anything around fitness and nutrition. Every training session is different and challenging.I never thought I would say this but I love turning up to each training session .....this coming from a person who had very low level of fitness and could not run more than 50m.
Give Crossfit Moorabbin a go, you will be pleasantly surprised.

Overall experience

5

Location5

Cleanliness5

Equipment4

Coaching5

Atmosphere5

they fixed my hips

My home boxPosted 2 years ago by

i had trained at another crossfit box when i joined CFM i had serious issues with my hip mobility issue both matt and kyle encouraged me to do mobility exercises every session as apart of my warm up.... plus the super friendly atmosphere its just like a great big family and quality equipment and lots of space your not bumping into people... suited to all levels of fitness...

we are just ordinary people doing extra-ordinary things thanks to the help of kyle and matt

come and play

Overall experience

5

Location5

Cleanliness4

Equipment4

Coaching5

Atmosphere5

Great CF box!

My home boxPosted 2 years ago by

I joined CrossFit Moorabbin after being a member of another box for over a year and finding out this new box was located just down the road from me. I knew I could probably expect a nice community vibe but I really got more than I thought I would. From the moment I turned up, I was welcomed by Matt and Kyle, the friendly awesome trainers, and the other CFM members.
I already knew how challenging CF workouts could be but since joining, have been pushed even more than I'm used to. Kyle and Matt are really encouraging and it doesn't matter what level you're at, everyone's in it for fun and don't take themselves too seriously.

Overall experience

5

Location5

Cleanliness5

Equipment4

Coaching5

Atmosphere5

CrossFit Moorabbin- addictive!

My home boxPosted 2 years ago by

I got into CrossFit completely by accident when my Trainer, Matt, decided to open his own CrossFit gym. He persuaded me to give it a go and I have never looked back!
It is a completely different experience to a regular gym where you are pretty much left to work things out on your own with no motivation and support, and little chance for real results.
I had always thought people were crazy when they said they were 'addicted' to exercise, but now I completely understand. What started as a once a week PT session has now become a 5-time-a-week habit!
The workouts are varied, tough and challenging- but there is always something for every level of ability and you always find that you push yourself further than you thought possible.
Obviously I love the workouts, and I love the results that CrossFit is giving me, but I have to say the main reason I keep going back day after day, is the people. I can't speak highly enough of Matt and Kyle as Trainers. I have learnt so much from them not just about CrossFit, but also Nutrition and recovery techniques. They constantly provide the kind of individual attention, support and motivation that you would normally only get in a one-on-one session. And they make it fun- even when I'm sweating, struggling and sore- I'm still having fun, which is pretty amazing. They have created such a good atmosphere at CrossFit Moorabbin where you feel like everyone is a mate and is there to help you achieve your goals.
I would never have imagined how far I have come and the things I have achieved at CFM- every week brings a new personal best and a new challenge, I look forward to every session!

Overall experience

5

Location5

Cleanliness4

Equipment4

Coaching5

Atmosphere5

WODing with your mates

My home boxPosted 2 years ago by

When entering Crossfit Moorabbin for the very first time it is easy to be intimidated by the people working out as with any box. But this quickly changes in a matter of seconds as someone will walk up to you, make you feel welcome and instantly make you feel at home. You will be accepted for what you are able to do and will soon be made into a Crossfit machine, improving in areas and accomplishing things you never thought you would be able to do. The gym has a very fun and sociable atmosphere in which you really feel like you are training with your friends, but this is not to say that you do not train hard, you use this to your advantage by working off each other and even creating a little bit of light friendly competition. Both the trainers and owners Kyle and Matt have years of experience between them meaning that they can answer any questions you have, not limited to Crossfit exercises, including injury and body issues to nutritional advice. Crossfit Moorabbin is a young box, but considering it's short life span has quickly become an established and well fitted Crossfit box that anyone will feel welcome attending no matter what demographic they fit in.

Overall experience

4

Location5

Cleanliness4

Equipment4

Coaching4

Atmosphere5

©2014. ReviewsForTime.com
CrossFit is a registered trademark of CrossFit, Inc. | Legal Statement

Login

Already a member? Please enter your email address and password to log in.

Not yet a member?

Join now »

Registration

We will not sell or spam your email address
Verify Must be at least 4 characters long
×