CrossFit Manassas

5
based on 9 reviews

Location5Perfectly safe

Cleanliness5Spotless

Equipment4.9Nicely Equipped

Coaching5Superb

Atmosphere5Totally got the warm & fuzzies

9414 Center Point Lane
Manassas, Virginia 20110
United States

Web:

MAP

Reviews

Perfect for the elite or novice.

My home boxPosted 6 years ago by

Already a 4 year crossfit veteran and coach, I had to move for work and found CrossFIt Manassas in my area. The coaches are welcoming, knowledgable, and efficient. Elite level athletes, novice trainees, and everyone in between trains together in the most supportive team environment I have ever encountered in a box. Aside from the mastiffs, the atmosphere will be the first thing you notice, followed by the top rate equipment.

Overall experience

5

Location5

Cleanliness5

Equipment4

Coaching5

Atmosphere5

Happiest Place on Earth

My home boxPosted 6 years ago by

I walked into this place completely intimidated and overwhelmed, *thinking* I was in shape... it's been almost nine months and I am doing things I never thought were possible. The owner of the gym, Coach Doug, has an ethic only rivaled by the greatest of coaches. All the coaches at CrossFit Manassas are dedicated, knowledgable, and genuine. This is the place that you wait all day at work to go to, the happiest place on Earth.

Even though I was an active person before joining this gym, I am now more active than I ever thought possible, in the best shape of my life, and the happiest I've ever been. Love everything about CrossFit Manassas!

Overall experience

5

Location5

Cleanliness5

Equipment5

Coaching5

Atmosphere5

CrossFit Manassas is AWESOME!

My home boxPosted 6 years ago by

I started Crossfit at CFM 2 years ago, to the day. I came off the couch, and when I say that I mean I came from ZERO athletic ability from years of inactivity. On top of that I was a cigarette smoker ( at LEAST a pack a day ) and a McDonalds eater ( 2 to 3 meals from McDonalds a day ). I came into the gym interested in its Thai Boxing program and ended up signing up for Crossfit because it was so outside the box and different from what I had heard about in the past. After a few classes I was hooked, and went from 2 to 3 classes a week to eventually working out 5 days a week! I went on to get certified and to become a coach at CFM, and have witnessed it's growth from a small local affiliate to one of the area's powerhouses in fitness and martial arts! The facilities are incredible with all the latest equipment, indoors AND outdoors. The coaches are all home grown from our membership, and all have to go through a 22wk in house coaching course before beginning an internship process. Head Coach Doug Esposito is thorough and knowledgeable in his programming, keeping to the spirit of Crossfit while applying the cutting edge of fitness science to each workout. We have a healthy competitive spirit, with a growing competition team that has begun making the rounds of local comps. Crossfit Manassas literally changed my life, as it has many others who have made the decision to let us help them find out what real fitness is!

Overall experience

5

Location5

Cleanliness5

Equipment5

Coaching5

Atmosphere5

200# Club!!!!

My home boxPosted 6 years ago by

I have been a participant at CrossFit Manassas for a little over a year. I became a CrossFit coach in October. My head coach sent me to Rogue to participate in the level 1 certification course. I completed and passed with flying colors on 10/7/2012! Our gym has three different competition teams, CrossFit, Olympic lifting, and Power lifting. We are also an MMA gym. Our team/gym dynamic is one of family! We all work as a team to acheieve the goals of the next person! I am currently chasing the womens powerlifting records in Virginia. I just hit the 200# mark on my bench press, shooting for 300 on my squat and 400 on my dead lift!!! I owe it all to my head coach Doug Esposito and the awesome well rounded programming at CrossFit Manassas!!!!

Overall experience

5

Location5

Cleanliness5

Equipment5

Coaching5

Atmosphere5

All Around Great Gym!

My home boxPosted 6 years ago by

I have been a member at CrossFit Manassas for almost 6 months now and love it. I moved to the DC area this summer and dropped in at a lot of different boxes in the area before joining CrossFit Manassas. Extremely happy with my decision to join. First of all the owner/head coach is one of the best you will find. He is extremely knowledgeable in all areas of exercise technique, programming, physiology, nutrition, etc. I am more of a competitive CrossFitter but the programming is suitable to people of all ability levels. The programming has led me to PR in nearly all my lifts and WODs. They also take a lot of pride in their facility and keep it extremely clean plus they have top of the line equipment. The bottom line is that this is one of the better CrossFits you will find and I would recommend it to anyone without hesitation.

Overall experience

5

Location5

Cleanliness5

Equipment5

Coaching5

Atmosphere5

The Place you want to be!

My home boxPosted 6 years ago by

Great gym! Promotes a culture of teamwork and encouragement for every skill level to be the best you can be. The staff is knowledgeable and always ready to help you with your goals..Everything from Fitness based performance to nutrition.

Overall experience

5

Location5

Cleanliness5

Equipment5

Coaching5

Atmosphere5

Amazing box that cares about its members

My home boxPosted 6 years ago by

When I was trying to decide whether or not to do CrossFit, people kept telling me that a good box would make the whole experience. I wasn't entirely sure what that meant, but everything I wanted and needed (whether I knew it or not) from a CrossFit box was found at CrossFit Manassas.

First, the coaching is top-notch. The workouts are explained clearly with multiple demos of prescribed as well as scaled versions of the movements. There are no dumb questions and we are encouraged to ask questions if we do not understand something. The coaches are incredibly patient, and they definitely know their stuff! Their knowledge and patience has helped erase much of the "fear factor" that comes with some of the lifts - especially the snatch. You are in very capable hands at CrossFit Manassas.

The coaches are also very good at establishing a "team" atmosphere. Before joining CrossFit, I saw an online promo that said CrossFit was the sport where the loudest cheers are for those last to finish. That is so true at CrossFit Manassas. While people are at different stages of their fitness journey - no one is made to feel weak, incompetent, or "bad." The coaches and other athletes will give you all the motivation and encouragement you need - you just have to give it all ya' got.

There is also an abundance of equipment. Lots of bars, lots of plates, kettlebells, rowers, Airdynes (wish there were fewer of these...), etc. Anything you think to be necessary for any WOD, they have and they have plenty. The equipment is plentiful and well taken care of by both staff and athletes. The WOD area is also bright and big. It really is a beautiful place to workout. It never feels grimy or gross; the area is very well-kept. The WOD area plus the nice equipment just pumps you up and makes you want to get in there and USE it!

CrossFit Manassas is just a great place to workout and get fit. This is a gym for beginners as well as CrossFit "pros." They have a sign above the door leading to the WOD area that says "Egos," because you are supposed to check your ego at the door. The members do it, too. No one is above anyone else, even though we are at different stages of our CrossFit journey. You will make friends, and you will get in shape ... and then you'll wonder why you didn't join sooner!

Overall experience

5

Location5

Cleanliness5

Equipment5

Coaching5

Atmosphere5

I have been training at crossfit

My home boxPosted 6 years ago by

I have been training at crossfit manassas for over 2 years now and I couldn't dream of going anywhere else. The top shelf coaching and the positive atmosphere that flows through the gym is unreal. Coach Doug Esposito has created an amazong facility for me and my other teammates to train at. I have been training since high school and have never been to a gym with the charisma and drive that this box possesses. Not only do I think of it as a home away from home, but I also look at everyone as an extended family and not just a teammate! If your ever in the area, I suggest dropping in for a wod! Cause it's the happiest place in Va.!

Overall experience

5

Location5

Cleanliness5

Equipment5

Coaching5

Atmosphere5

My second home according to my wife

My home boxPosted 6 years ago by

After 4 plus years of doing crossfit by myself, I took the opportunity to revisit Crossfit Manassas. It is clear the work, sweat, and effort Doug (the owner and coach) has taken to ensure that this is one of the best boxes in the area is evident the minute you walk in and talk to him. Not only have the facilities been completely upgraded, expanded, and stocked with rogue equipment from wall to wall, but after speaking with Doug it was clear he has taken charge of the programming and will forget more about the science and coaching behind it than I will ever learn. Doug has taken the time to ensure the programming is top notch and that the other coaches in the gym are all on the same level. Doug has not just spit out another persons training philosophy, but you can tell he has taken his time to read up on Burgener, Rippetoe, Everett, and several other coaches and incorporated everything he has learned into his programming and coaching.

On top of the excellent coaching, I could not imagine a better group of folks to work out with. The atmosphere in the gym is like I imagine it is at most boxes, nothing but an extended family. I have made leaps and bounds between having the proper coaching and teammates to push me everyday. If you are in the area and want to check it out, please do not hesitate...you will not be disappointed.

Overall experience

5

Location5

Cleanliness5

Equipment5

Coaching5

Atmosphere5

©2018. ReviewsForTime.com
CrossFit is a registered trademark of CrossFit, Inc. | Legal Statement

Login

Already a member? Please enter your email address and password to log in.

Not yet a member?

Join now »

Registration

We will not sell or spam your email address
Verify Must be at least 4 characters long
×