CrossFit Fairfax

4.9
based on 15 reviews

Location4.9Somewhat safe

Cleanliness4.8Fairly Clean

Equipment4.9Nicely Equipped

Coaching4.9Very Knowledgable

Atmosphere4.9Somewhat friendly

2831 Dorr Ave
Fairfax, Virginia 22031
United States

Web:

MAP

Reviews

Best coaches

Posted 1 year ago by

Crossfit Fairfax has outstanding coaches, all of whom do an excellent job teaching the movements and motivating their clients. They keep people safe while working hard. And the atmosphere at the box is very friendly.

Overall experience

5

Location5

Cleanliness5

Equipment5

Coaching5

Atmosphere5

Nice Box!

My home boxPosted 1 year ago by

CF Fairfax (CFFX) history and personality is rooted in the local history and growth of CrossFit in the DC Metro Area. CFFX is well estabilshed, has a large clientale (100+ folks WOD'ing per day). The part I appreciate the most is you'll still see the owner, Jeff Tincher, meticuolsly mother henning around the gym to provide the best experience for his athletes. Some physical trainers coach because they think they have the true religion, want others to be like them, and/or seek attention - the best coach becasue they love helping others improve themselves. Jeff T - is definitely one of those type of coaches and he is passionate about creating opportunity for others and sharing his knowledge to help you succeed. Consequentially, all the CFFX Coaching staff reflects this perspective. Highlights: Approximately 5000 sq ft, 2 x bathrooms, 2 x dressing rooms, liberal warm up area, and the full spectrum of CF gear. Classes are 30mins and arriving 15-mins early to do the prescribed warm-up is highly recommended. This format works great in the DC area with our busy lives and battle w/ Traffic. As a Husband and Father of 3 x midgets - I'm thankful for knowing if I'm late for my targeted WOD, there is another right around the corner. Pricing is extremely competitive in the area. They host an awesome, very professional nutrition challenge periodically (I've experienced some crap ones elsewhere). Finally, Coaching Staff has a good demographic per age, gender, and lifestyles. Programming is always fun and challenging. Culture - well, I believe all parties are a function of what you bring to it - there is a competitive group, hard drinking group, gym socials, and enough room for folks who just want to work out to fit in fine.

Overall experience

5

Location5

Cleanliness5

Equipment5

Coaching5

Atmosphere5

best box

My home boxPosted 1 year ago by

Fairfax has the best coaching and programming around.. we just moved to a bigger space but still warm and friendly. they keep on adding equipment and everything is clean. they also have cross fit kids.

Overall experience

5

Location5

Cleanliness5

Equipment5

Coaching5

Atmosphere5

I did Crossfit workouts from the

My home boxPosted 1 year ago by

I did Crossfit workouts from the main site on my own for about 2.5 yrs before I joined Crossfit Fairfax last summer. I learned enough in the geting started class about techiniques and the details that you just don't get on your own and can't evaluate individually. Everything about my fitness has improved ten fold in the past year and a half. Cardio, met-con, strength, mobility, and nutrition. I'm 100 times more healthy and self aware of my own fitness and body than I've ever been in my life. I NEVER could have achieved what I have without this place and most importantly, the people in it. I would recommend this place to anybody!

Overall experience

5

Location5

Cleanliness5

Equipment5

Coaching5

Atmosphere5

Awesome Community & Coaches

My home boxPosted 1 year ago by

Crossfit Fairfax is a wonderful place to workout. The coaches at CFFX do a great job at pushing athletes to become stronger through great instruction and WOD planning.
I would highly recommend anyone to try out CFFX, you will definitely enjoy the great facility, community, and of course coaches.

Overall experience

5

Location5

Cleanliness4

Equipment5

Coaching5

Atmosphere5

Great Place

Posted 1 year ago by

The experience at CrossFit Fairfax has been amazing! The trainers and other members of the gym are very welcoming and encouraging to all others that are working out at the same time. The trainers are very knowledgeable and will push you to be better but always take into account proper technique and weight limits to avoid injury. CrossFit Fairfax is a great place and a lot of fun!

Overall experience

5

Location5

Cleanliness5

Equipment5

Coaching5

Atmosphere5

Great group of people that overall

My home boxPosted 1 year ago by

Great group of people that overall love the sport of Crossfit. Always friendly faces waiting to kick your ass every day. Crossfit Fairfax promotes a team effort in every WOD you do, with people pushing you to that next weight or one more rep, hard to feel like you are the only one doing the WOD.

Love it!

Overall experience

5

Location5

Cleanliness5

Equipment5

Coaching5

Atmosphere5

Let me walk you into my box. You

My home boxPosted 1 year ago by

Let me walk you into my box. You walk into a spacious area filled with all kinds of equipment- for all levels of fitness (yes kettle bells and dumbbells 10 -100 pounds). You are immediately greeted by the coach of the day. You look over a large board to see all sorts of information, articles, etc but most importantly the WOD section. This section is divided into three areas: the warm up (designed specifically for the WOD), the actual WOD (with additional details such as alternative weights for those who are not RXing the WOD), and the daily core workout. You do them all! Coaches make sure of that!
When the class starts, the coach explains, demos, and have us athletes, go over the moves. We do that before every WOD, mainly for safety, but also to correct any mistakes we may have. Before we get on the pain train, the coach asks us to go to our station and asks us to repeat the WOD. You may think that is too much babying, but, trust me, there is always one person who needs the information. I love the fact that the coaches know what your PRs are and in doing a WOD, help you chose the right weight. You get this treatment in a one-on-one setting, no where else (xfit Fairfax being the exception).
The bathrooms are ALWAYS clean. The owner is obsessed with their cleanliness. You find sprays, head bands, and other sanitary items one may need. Really a personal touch not matched by any other place I have visited.
Crossfit Fairfax community is tightly knit, you birthday, anniversary, special days, are known by all and are posted on the Crossfit Fiarfax Facebook page. Athletes care because they follow the example of the coaches.
I have been exercising for over 20 years, and I have see a lot of gyms, boxes, this is simply the best. I follow their programming wherever I go, it is outstanding. We do have a WOD wizard!

Overall experience

5

Location4

Cleanliness5

Equipment5

Coaching5

Atmosphere5

Amazing place!

My home boxPosted 1 year ago by

I've been going to CF Fairfax for over two years and I have to say its an amazing place! Spacious facility and great equipment. The coaches actually care about your progress and push you to be better. What more could you ask for?

Overall experience

5

Location5

Cleanliness5

Equipment5

Coaching4

Atmosphere5

Great CF!

My home boxPosted 1 year ago by

I have been at CF Fairfax for 1.5 years. One of the best things about this CF is the coaching and the competitive spirit in the gym. After spending time at other CFs, I realized that Fairfax is one of the best!

Overall experience

5

Location5

Cleanliness4

Equipment5

Coaching5

Atmosphere4

Great, supportive community

My home boxPosted 1 year ago by

Crossfit Fairfax is a nice facility with plenty of gear, but the key features are the coaches and the community. It is warm and welcoming to new folks, and the coaches rapidly get to know you and your strengthens and weaknesses. You never feel pushed to the point where you might get injured, but the coaches work within your abilities to push you forward at a pace that will likely surprise you. I have worked out at a lot of facilities around the world, and CF Fairfax is the standard I use to compare them all. Simply the best.

Overall experience

5

Location5

Cleanliness5

Equipment5

Coaching5

Atmosphere5

CrossFit Fairfax

My home boxPosted 1 year ago by

Great Crossfit gym and coaches here. Coaches are always looking out for the safety of everyone and encourages the athletes to challenge themselves. I would definitely recommend anyone looking to improve themselves physically and mentally to try this gym out.

Overall experience

4

Location5

Cleanliness4

Equipment4

Coaching5

Atmosphere4

The place for everyone

My home boxPosted 1 year ago by

I've been coming to CFFX for a year now, and have grown to appreciate the warm community and the excellent, experienced, and varied coaching. It's a place for the hard-core competitor who wants to seriously improve, but also just as much for those of us who are full-time working parents who need to squeeze in a quick WOD (they are on the half hour at the start/end of the day). There's a broad age and skill range of peope, and the coaching is even-handed to all of us.

Overall experience

5

Location5

Cleanliness5

Equipment5

Coaching5

Atmosphere5

Crossfit Fairfax is a great

My home boxPosted 1 year ago by

Crossfit Fairfax is a great atmosphere, and the coaches make sure everyone feels welcome. The new and improved gym space is awesome! Always great motivation and competition each day, it's great to work out here.

Overall experience

5

Location5

Cleanliness5

Equipment5

Coaching5

Atmosphere5

Absolutely TOP OF THE LINE BOX

My home boxPosted 1 year ago by

Everything about CrossFit Fairfax will bring you right back to it, if you aren't lucky enough to call it your home box! The trainers are absolutley incredible, talented athletes. They are approachable and friendly. The community feeling is unsurpassed.

Overall experience

5

Location5

Cleanliness5

Equipment5

Coaching5

Atmosphere5

©2014. ReviewsForTime.com
CrossFit is a registered trademark of CrossFit, Inc. | Legal Statement

Login

Already a member? Please enter your email address and password to log in.

Not yet a member?

Join now »

Registration

We will not sell or spam your email address
Verify Must be at least 4 characters long
×