CrossFit Central London

4.9
based on 30 reviews

Location4.8Somewhat safe

Cleanliness4.4Fairly Clean

Equipment4.7Nicely Equipped

Coaching4.9Very Knowledgable

Atmosphere5Somewhat friendly

Arch 57 Ewer Street
London SE1 0NR
United Kingdom

Web:

MAP

Reviews

CFCL FOundations Course

Posted 2 years ago by

Just finished the weekend Foundations course at Crossfit Central London and felt that it deserved a review on here. I've been an on/off member of gyms for ages but due to boredom and lack of knowledge I have never got the results I wanted so decided to try Crossfit. Anyone who wants to learn about fitness and get some expert training would be well advised to give the Foundations course a go! All of the coaches were great, really friendly and encouraging but also pushing you to do as much as you could. Some of the exercises were very hard work (especially on the 2nd day) and I'm feeling it now but then that is the point and I learnt a huge amount for just 2 days.The whole team are really encouraging and knowledgable so make it a very enjoyable (if tough) experience. Only piece of advice I would say is take some warm clothes as it can get cold when you're not working out. I highly recommend it and look forward to progressing with Crossfit Central London.

Overall experience

5

Location5

Cleanliness5

Equipment5

Coaching5

Atmosphere5

Foundation

Posted 2 years ago by

I just finished my Foundation course. 10 hours of some amazing coaching! Getting fit is something I've wanted to do for a long time but even though I've been going to the gym I've found it hard to honestly push myself. This has made progress really slow. Even though we didn't even use any weights during the Foundation, in two days I was already pleasingly more achy than I have ever been at the gym. I actually felt like I'd gotten somewhere. Being able to actually measure my progress is something I'm going to really enjoy. One of the main things that attracted me to CrossFit was the fact that it's getting you fit for any eventuality. I teach Wing Tsun Kung Fu and so this is something that I try to educate my students on in my classes. You need to train to face any and all challenges - this makes CrossFit the perfect fit. The last thing I'd say about CrossFit Central London is that the coaches were amazing. Hugely knowledgeable and fantastic motivators. They clearly love what they do and have the skill to get you loving it just as much. Having someone there to lead/push you through the movements to achieve your full potential is invaluable. If you're on the fence about coming along, I implore you to jump in and give it a go!

Overall experience

5

Location5

Cleanliness5

Equipment5

Coaching5

Atmosphere5

Very good, albeit hard to find!

Posted 2 years ago by

I've just completed my Foundation course at this gym over the last two days. Crossfit is difficult - at times I seriously felt like walking out the door but it does push you, safely, beyond what you thought your limits were. The two main Coaches - Bryan and Naama - were excellent, friendly, patient and didn't expect us to get all the exercises right the first time.

My only downsides were that some of the secondary coaches were a little hesitant and unclear about what they were asking for - something echoed by my fellow attendees. Other secondary coaches were however precise, listened when I told them how I was feeling and offered really good feedback and drilling, and praise when you got something right. It's a mixed bag.

One other piece of feedback is that, as one Ewer street entrance was closed at the time I attended Foundation, was to add a BIG FAT NOTE AND DIAGRAM ABOUT HOW TO FIND THE PLACE to the preparation email.

Overall experience

4

Location4

Cleanliness3

Equipment4

Coaching4

Atmosphere4

Newbie Review

Posted 2 years ago by

I have recentlly completed the Foundation Course at the Crossfit Central London Gym. This is the best gym I have ever been to. As a serial gym user (i joined 3 over the last 12 months) I knew what I was looking for but could never quite find it!!! I have found it at Cross Fit Central London....

Crossfit gives you high intensity workouts with supportive staff who push you and motivate you at the same time. There is a great feeling of camaraderie amongst everyone who trains there. Highly recommend this gym!

Overall experience

5

Location5

Cleanliness5

Equipment5

Coaching5

Atmosphere5

Cross Fit Central London AWESOME!!!!!! A novice perspective.

My home boxPosted 2 years ago by

Amazing! Go now don't delay! I have just finished a foundation course with Brian and his excellent team of coaches. If you have been to a normal so to speak gym before, leave your misconceptions at the door.

I have never really had any real success going to a high street gym and have never found them to be any real support in helping the "everyday" man achieve their goals. Many seem more interested in getting your money and leaving you to it or charging you loads extra for personal training! Cross fit Central London is completely different!

The foundation course is both tiring and inspiring! Brian and the other coaches are excellent at explaining everything from lifting techniques to how to eat properly. If you are not an iron man don't be put off. I am currently not too fit and found the course majorly inspiring! I did things I never thought I could do like handstands, proper lifting like you see on tv and many other activities. Don't be put off if you are not too fit as everything is scalable so you get an excellent workout whatever your level of fitness.

Additionally the gym has a lovely, friendly atmosphere where you don't feel silly asking questions when you are a novice. I was paired with a other people at different times of the day, often who were fitter than me. Normally I find this a bit uncomfortable but they were brilliant encouraging me and making the whole place feel like somewhere you want to be! Thanks as well to the other people on the course! You were a lovely bunch of people!

Another review says it has got to be the premier fitness venue in London. Cannot agree more! Brilliant for all! Not just the extremely fit people looking to take it to the next level (there are plenty of those people in the CLCF gym! Lots of amazing bodies!) Got more one to one coaching on the foundation course than I have in years of going to a high street gym! Check it out you won't be disappointed. Thanks to everyone at Crossfit Central London for changing my whole perspective on fitness.

An inspirational place to train and really fun and different! A place for elite athletes and the everyday man/woman looking to improve their fitness and well being!

Overall experience

5

Location5

Cleanliness5

Equipment5

Coaching5

Atmosphere5

Crossfit foundations course rocked

My home boxPosted 2 years ago by

Just completed the CrossFit foundations course here, I was initially pointed at the site by a friend who took the trainers course here. I now know why. 

The trainers were friendly, knowledgable and wanted to ensure that your technique was as close to perfect that it could be. There was an awesome sense of commaraderie which motivated you to push that little bit more.

I've been a regular goer of a standard gym for quite a few years now and was getting bored. Here I immediately felt like I'd found myself. No headphones required and you can scale it to your capability. 

I would definitely recommend Crossfit Central London and for me now, I can't wait to see the results. 

Overall experience

5

Location5

Cleanliness5

Equipment5

Coaching5

Atmosphere5

A newbie but hooked!

Posted 2 years ago by

Brian, Naama and Marlin provided a great experience for all of us newbies on our two day foundation course - just got home...sore but pretty stoked and ready to get started. I found the vibe at Crossfit Central London to be super friendly, really focussed on helping you get the most out of every workout and very inclusive.As an out of shape 40 something who has done all the diets and programes going I think I have found a place and group of fitness leaders to help me get things properly on track. Contact them, arrange a time to go in for an introduction and like the rest of us I think you will decide to have a go.

Overall experience

5

Location4

Cleanliness5

Equipment5

Coaching5

Atmosphere5

Pain + Train = GAIN

My home boxPosted 2 years ago by

I've just finished a two day Foundation course at Crossfit Central London with Brian and his team. To say in shattered is an understatement BUT I am massively excited at the prospect of a long Crossfit love ahead of me. Brian and his team took their time and experience to show us what we should be doing from Squats, Presses, deadlifts, Handstands, Muscleups, Olympic Lifting and my favourite Nutrition. I wholly recommend this place if you want to live a better, fitter, stronger life. The inspiration coming out of here is immense.

Overall experience

5

Location5

Cleanliness5

Equipment5

Coaching5

Atmosphere5

I now love CrossFit, thanks to Brian and team @ CFCL

My home boxPosted 2 years ago by

Although the room was daunt in at first, the coaches take you through each and every move, making it as simple as possible. THis made it a worthwhile and even enjoyable experience. I was very impressed with the information at the lectures and the workouts were a massive buzz! I cannot wait to get started next week!!

Overall experience

5

Location5

Cleanliness5

Equipment5

Coaching5

Atmosphere5

Great gym, even for beginners!

My home boxPosted 2 years ago by

Just completed a foundations course, worth every penny. We learnt about CrossFit, the benefits vs normal gym, foundation movements and even nutrition. Was all the great information- excellent! Great equipment, master trainers and cannot wait to see results!!

Overall experience

5

Location4

Cleanliness5

Equipment5

Coaching5

Atmosphere5

Foundations course

Posted 2 years ago by

I've have just completed the foundations course at Crossfit Central London and have been amazed at the energy of the place, the knowledge the trainers have to impart and how adaptable the workouts are. I ache dreadfully now but I'm hooked!!

Overall experience

5

Location5

Cleanliness4

Equipment4

Coaching5

Atmosphere5

Just completed my foundations, can't wait to have a go!

My home boxPosted 2 years ago by

Brilliant! Has got to be the premier fitness training facility in London. No one has a more dynamic approach to getting fit than crossfit. The attention to detail, and teaching of the correct foundations and essentials is second to none. It beats going through the motions and doing the same exercises over and over at any other gym.

Overall experience

5

Location5

Cleanliness4

Equipment5

Coaching5

Atmosphere5

New and love it

Posted 3 years ago by

Just completed my foundation course....can't wait to get stuck in! Looks different....and just so much more fun than the gym!! Great atmosphere. the coaches are incredibly knowledgeable and very patient...great!

Overall experience

5

Location3

Cleanliness4

Equipment4

Coaching5

Atmosphere5

I HAVE A WORKOUT HIGH FOR THE FIRST TIME IN MY LIFE

My home boxPosted 3 years ago by

I have been working out at various gyms for years. And every one is the same story, a fancy lobby leading to lots of expensive machines that don't actually do anything with smarmy personal trainers that are only interested in you for your £45 an hour potential. And then I discovered crossfit. The community experience of it, the need to do one better than the time before to encourage not just yourself but the trainers who genuinely seem to care. I don't think I could ever go back to a 'normal' gym ever again!

Overall experience

5

Location5

Cleanliness4

Equipment5

Coaching5

Atmosphere5

as a newbee

My home boxPosted 3 years ago by

hay guys, as a new crossfitter i have had an amazing introduction here and will continue to go no matter what (however painful) with the exception of showers this has everything you would want in a gym. great overall and would def rec..

Peace

Tay

Overall experience

5

Location5

Cleanliness5

Equipment5

Coaching5

Atmosphere5

Just Joined!

My home boxPosted 3 years ago by

Loving this place already! Great people, functional workouts, great coaches & lots of fun. Better than my usual gym any day. I need to get my fitness up to the next level asap and this will be the place to do it! :)

Overall experience

5

Location5

Cleanliness5

Equipment5

Coaching5

Atmosphere5

Hey!!! I've recently

My home boxPosted 3 years ago by

Hey!!!

I've recently finished the foundations course and it was both excellent and an eye opener. I thought I had the right technique for a Deadlift, Clean & Snatch however with the Crossfit coaches great teaching points they tweaked my technique a little to make it a perfect movement and it made all the difference!

Great nutritional advice too and I was looking forward to doing the Muscle Up's but I clearly need more time to complete one!
The atmosphere was very friendly and I only hope to see the guys on my course in my elements classes.

I'm getting up extra early to do Duncan's class tomorrow. Looking forward to it.

Thank you to everyone involved in Crossfit Central London I hope to be a good athlete soon!

Maurizio Deufemia

Overall experience

4

Location4

Cleanliness4

Equipment4

Coaching4

Atmosphere5

Something for the Weekend sir.....

Posted 3 years ago by

If you are living in London and want to try CrossFit then you could not go to a better place. What you will find is a great atmosphere and an infectious passion to train and better yourself, whatever your ability or aspirations. The trainers at CFCL will help you achieve all your goals and you won't meet a better group of training companions from all walks of life to do it with. There are lots of different styles and types of training and something for all. I have now left London and live else where. I try to keep motivated and train regularly but it is so much harder when you have not got the support and the drive of the CFCL team behind you. But that's just my poor excuse!
Brian and Clare the owners are passionate about the box and it shows with smiles and enthusiasm every time you go through the hallowed doors.

Overall experience

5

Location5

Cleanliness5

Equipment5

Coaching5

Atmosphere5

Best thing I've ever done.......

My home boxPosted 3 years ago by

I only cycled passed CFCL to see what CrossFit was all about and if it would take some strain away from my body doing nothing but swimming, cycling and running - an hour with Bri later and I left having been taught how to overhead squat, deadlift and look at posterior chain movements and found myself starting the foundations course the following week. Eighteen months later and I crossfit 3 times a week which replaces 2 bike, 2 run and 1 swim session and I am leaner, stronger and fitter than ever with no drop in any performance indicators in my main 3 activities for triathlon even though I do a lot less hours in them these days.

They are the friendliest bunch of characters you could ever wish to meet with knowledge to back up what they are coaching.

Overall experience

5

Location5

Cleanliness4

Equipment4

Coaching5

Atmosphere5

Best box i have ever visted

Posted 3 years ago by

This was my first Crossfit experiance and if there is one thing I miss of my 6 month stay in London it is CFCL. Since I left CFCL I have visted numerous boxes in the US and Europe but none care the same as this badass Crossfit gym.

This gym has it all, a gigantic pull up rig with high rings and monkey bars. Gymnastic mats, GHD's, rowers, nice flooring.

Besides the classic wod classes which the run in the morning and evening you can also participate in specialty classes like Endurance class, Olympic weightlifting classes, firebreather wods and last but not least fridaynight social fun. For beginners they have foundations and element classes in which you will safely learn the movements under subervision of great coaches. Especially the foundations and elements classes are of very high quality compared to other gyms, I did my level 1 Crossfit Certification and found out didn't had to study that much as I thought I would everything because of the Foundations and Elements classes i had followed at CFCL.

This box has it all; a great location, superb coaches, all the equipment you can wish for, great atmosphere. 10/10!

Overall experience

5

Location4

Cleanliness4

Equipment5

Coaching5

Atmosphere5

nice box

My home boxPosted 3 years ago by

Nice box, good coaching, clean and very tidy, nice atmosphere fully equipped for WODing but would be nice to have one or two oly weightlifting platforms, but thats only for those who want to practise in oly.. Its not for WODs..

Overall experience

5

Location5

Cleanliness4

Equipment5

Coaching5

Atmosphere5

When your box becomes home

My home boxPosted 3 years ago by

The best way to describe CFCL is by telling you a short story from the other evening. After an evening WOD a few of us went to dinner around the corner. The conversation was covering all of the typical subjects of a Crossfit inspired dinner, which protein powder is better, how much someone loves their new jump rope, how to get better Olympic lifting technique, and etc. At some point I was referencing a location right next to the box and without even realising it I said, "You know the place right next to the house." Not skipping beat everyone at table understood and the conversation carried on. It wasn't until a moment later that we all paused and realised that we had referred to CFCL not as the gym, but as home.

That's exactly what the CFCL has become to a lot of us, a home. I believe that a box, much like your home, is defined by the people who are there, the faces you see when you walk in, the words of encouragement you receive, and the comfort you feel (until you start a WOD of course).

Any gym can have all the best equipment, and coaching staff, but a great box, a place that I call home, has something more. A great box has a community of people that makes a truly special place to train. Brian and Clare at CFCL have done just that, they have made that type of box and in doing so they brought us all home.

Overall experience

4

Location5

Cleanliness5

Equipment3

Coaching5

Atmosphere5

Welcomed Me with Open Arms

Posted 3 years ago by

I studied abroad in London and had the immense pleasure of working out at CFCL. They welcomed me with open arms from the first day. The community here is amazing.

The coaching is great. CFCL programs really differently from my box back in the US but it really helped me to become a more well rounded athlete. I get so many compliments now on my rope climb because at CFCL I learned a new anchor I'd never been taught before (Thanks guys!). This box has plenty of class times, though I highly recommend their evening classes for the atmosphere. Even though the gym is a bit hard to find the first time because it's down an alley way, I always felt safe leaving the gym alone--even late at night. The CFCL box is well equipped, too. They have everything you need for a comprehensive and challenging workout.

I want to give a bit of extra praise to their CF Endurance Coach Jon Shelby who really went out of his way to help me after classes with skill work and pose running. However, all their coaches are happy to lend a helping hand and will really help you push yourself.

All in all I highly recommend CFCL. I wouldn't go anywhere else.

Overall experience

5

Location5

Cleanliness2

Equipment4

Coaching4

Atmosphere5

CFCL through a beginners eyes

Posted 3 years ago by

I went to CFCL for the first time this weekend, and it was my first meeting with Crossfit in general. I just moved to London, so I went alone, but was met with open arms, big smiles and a great atmosphere, and already on day 1 I decided to sign up for good.

I have been in and out (mainly out) of gyms the last 10 years, and always fell out of the routines. I either didn't go after a while, or wasted too much time, so "going to the gym" easily meant 2,5 hours for me. Crossfit is 1 hour at a fixed time, and I have the team and the coaches making sure that I simply cannot waste time. I went today, and I'm already a fan of the good atmosphere where I'm helped, pushed and answered in all the right ways at CFCL - with humor, a smile and a determined push in the right direction. I have never felt this in a gym, where training is so much more individual. And I have to say, it's a very competent mix of coaches at CFCL. I felt that way already after the weekend, and today they just rolled out another set of great coaches! I have been a coach myself for many years, so I might be picky. But the CFCL guys get 6 kettlebells from me, and this is maybe the most important factor for me.

Furthermore, with a weak and fragile back, I really value having 1-2 coaches around for all questions, lifts, techniques and cheering when the going gets tough (and it does). I would not do Crossfit without this very thorough and helpful guiding.

Location is of course individual, but it is very close to several Tubes. I just walk there and crawl back.

Equipment I can't comment on, since I don't know what is needed yet.

Cleanliness is a 5'er as well, and I again like the strict but humoristic approach to keeping it that way.

If I cannot do 3 x 1 hour/week, in a friendly environment with motivating and fun people, I don't deserve to get fit. But I'm pretty confident that if you look forward to going, you're already half way there, and I'm ready for Friday already. :)

Overall experience

5

Location5

Cleanliness5

Equipment5

Coaching5

Atmosphere5

If Carlsberg made CrossFit boxes...

My home boxPosted 3 years ago by

What makes a good CrossFit gym?

EQUIPMENT: CFCL has all the equipment you could want: from beginner to Open Champion; you'll find it all here. But anyone can pay for lots of equipment, so that's not important!

LOCATION
CFCL is in one of the premier cities in the world, and in one of the best locations in that city. 4 minutes from Waterloo station (accesible on many of the tube lines) and you're there! But location's not a huge issue; you could train at home if you're honest!

CLEANLINESS / SPACE
This is one of the tidiest places I have ever been to; not just gyms / boxes. Having served all over the world in the military I would say you'd be hard pressed to find a gym with more detail paid to the cleanliness and order. Again, this isn't the main factor - you can train in a mess!

COACHING
This is the second best thing about CFCL: the coaches are first rate. They know it. They practice it. The excel in it. They want YOU to excel in it. There is a real passion in every one of the coaches; you get the feeling they really want you to achieve that PB, get that muscle-up... You could read a book and learn the moves; but you won't be pushed and encouraged like you will be here!

ATMOSPHERE
A gym is a gym is a gym... In most gyms you are a number (a name if you're lucky) and you enter through the barrier into anonymity and sweaty room where no one talks but they just keep themselves to themselves. The lazy ones walk or cycle at a pace my gran could complete and talk to their equally lazy friend next to them. The others stick on their music and run until it gets a little bit tough...then give up.
At CFCL it's different!
You're a person, with strengths and weaknesses and everyone shares in that. You know others strengths and weaknesses. You encourage each other when it gets hard - and it will! You enjoy the satisfaction of competing against people with ability above and below that of yourself. It sounds clichéd, but it's true, there is a real friendly / family atmosphere at CFCL and everyone has their own goals!

SUMMARY.
What do you want from your workout? If you want to be challenged, pushed, developed and guided in a friendly, competitive atmosphere then this is for you!
Why not call in a give it a go? Really...what do you have to loose? Aside from that belly...

Overall experience

5

Location5

Cleanliness5

Equipment5

Coaching5

Atmosphere5

CFCL

My home boxPosted 3 years ago by

Joining CFCL truly was one of the best decisions I’ve made. Over the past six months I’ve met some terrific people, both coaches and athletes alike. Unlike my experience with globo gyms, there’s a great sense of inclusion at CFCL (regardless of ability) and that makes you feel part of a family. The staff are passionate, helpful and offer fantastic coaching. The members are warm, fun and inspirational. My level of health and general wellbeing is at an all time high. More importantly, I wake up each day looking forward to turning up at CFCL and giving it my best. A great place to train.

Overall experience

5

Location5

Cleanliness5

Equipment5

Coaching5

Atmosphere5

Crossfit Central London

My home boxPosted 3 years ago by

I'm slightly biased since Crossfit Central London is my second home so I get a warm and fuzzy feeling whenever i'm there. It's like Cheers where everyone knows your name. For me it's just perfect.

But I've travelled to other boxes so I know things are different elsewhere - so here's a dispassionate assessment of CFCL.

First, it's big. Two big arches underneath a railway bridge. It's got a good location near the city and the West End.

It's well equipped - a monster central pull up rig and plenty of barbells, weights, kettlebells and med balls. Everything is well organised and professional.

CFCL runs lots of different classes; from Foundations to Elements, which are VERY popular as well as really good olympic lifting classes from a dedicated olympic liting coach. There's also swimming coaching from an England Olympic athlete and separate gymnastics and crossfit endurance classes.

The level of coaching and dedication is excellent and the community spirit is fantastic. We had 60 people at the Christmas party last year. Brian and Claire who run CFCL are totally dedicated to the cause and the gym is staffed by some really decent coaches.

Overall experience

5

Location5

Cleanliness1

Equipment4

Coaching4

Atmosphere5

best place in london

Posted 3 years ago by

started to train in january, in my oppinion the coaches are awsome, the members are friendly and suportive. i've worked in many gyms and trained in more than a few, it was clear from day one this place had everything you need to suceed with any goal. i would strongly recommend this place and the coaches to anyone no matter what your ability.

Overall experience

5

Location5

Cleanliness5

Equipment5

Coaching5

Atmosphere5

Best box in london

My home boxPosted 3 years ago by

The community is a massive selling point. Bri and his coaching team have created a community of awesome people. Who regularly go out together and it's easy to spend hours together enjoying the company. There's a huge range of classes swim WODs, Endurance, olympic lifting and a stellar beginner elements program. The location is perfect in the centre of london.

Overall experience

5

Location5

Cleanliness5

Equipment5

Coaching5

Atmosphere5

Best Box in London

My home boxPosted 3 years ago by

This place has a community unlike any other. They nursed me back from a broken leg, and I'm fitter than ever. Bryan, Duncan, Alex, Matt, Mark and the rest of the coaches create an amazing community where the members genuinely love hanging out with each other, as evidenced by the weekend nights at the pub! With beginners, intermediate and advanced classes, there is something for everyone, and the location is perect: 5 minutes walk to the tube and 10 minutes to the Thames River.

Overall experience

5

Location5

Cleanliness5

Equipment5

Coaching5

Atmosphere5

©2014. ReviewsForTime.com
CrossFit is a registered trademark of CrossFit, Inc. | Legal Statement

Login

Already a member? Please enter your email address and password to log in.

Not yet a member?

Join now »

Registration

We will not sell or spam your email address
Verify Must be at least 4 characters long
×