CrossFit Boomtown

5
based on 12 reviews

Location4.8Somewhat safe

Cleanliness5Spotless

Equipment4.9Nicely Equipped

Coaching5Superb

Atmosphere5Totally got the warm & fuzzies

1106 East Ridge Rd
Rochester, New York 14607
United States

Web:

MAP

Reviews

CFBT

My home boxPosted 2 years ago by

I was working out at another area box and decided after one wod that this was the place I needed to train. Worked out here for 5 months prior to my deployment and am in the best shape of my life. Can't wait to get back. There is no other place I would rather workout.
F I D O

Overall experience

5

Location5

Cleanliness5

Equipment5

Coaching5

Atmosphere5

My new tribe

My home boxPosted 2 years ago by

I am a 41 year old single father of 3 boys and have always been an active person in athletics, and lifting in a traditional gym, since I was 16. Recently, a number of lifestyle changes have made me more self aware of who I am and who I want to become. Similar to a "do-over" back in the pre-teen years of touch football without the referee making the calls.....I realized I have been presented with the gift of a doing things differently in many aspects of my life.

As a single/part time parent, I found myself in the gym more and more just to occupy time. However, I quickly realized that I was not satisfied with the same mundane workouts, and was not challenged. Also, the culture of the gym I went to was very fake and superficial and members weren't held accountable to their own personal goals, creating a dis-connect between members and the function of a gym/fitness center. They didn't care if you showed up, because they had your monthly EFT and banked it.

ENTER CrossFit. I was exposed to CrossFit for the first time in 2011....not sure how it escaped my attention until then. I was captivated by the conditioning of the athletes at the Games and was hooked instantly.....I WANTED to be in that category of people.

I bought group of 5 classes at CrossFit BoomTown, went to my first class. I explained that I had a re-occurring lower back problem and asked how they could help. First and foremost, they stressed the importance of form and technique and conditioning. They weren't pushing me to load weight on a bar.....they genuinely cared for my well being and health and wanted to teach me the proper way to CrossFit.

After my first class I thought "I can do this"..... "I want to do this everyday".......
I'm hooked! It has opened my eyes to a new form of fitness and has pushed me in ways I never would have pushed myself in a traditional gym. I am learning something new in every class, meeting new people every week, and can't stop talking about it.....so much that my kids and friends get annoyed with the word CrossFit every time I mention it.

CrossFit BoomTown has changed my life. It is exactly what I needed in the second half of my life and can't thank them enough for kicking off my "do-over", to a great start!

Overall experience

5

Location5

Cleanliness5

Equipment4

Coaching5

Atmosphere5

Love at First WOD

My home boxPosted 2 years ago by

First went in off of a friends recommendation and right off the bat I was treated like a regular. Everyone was so friendly and supportive, I immediately signed up. The coaches are phenomenal, not only as Crossfit coaches but as people too and they're always willing to correct your form or tell you a better way to an exercise. The place is like my second home, I try and go as much as possible when I'm home. I love it.

Overall experience

5

Location4

Cleanliness5

Equipment5

Coaching5

Atmosphere5

CFBT- Andrew

My home boxPosted 2 years ago by

I am so happy I have been apart of this CrossFit Community since it began as a little garage box. Even then I was blown away by the type of results you can get just from limited equipment, hard work, and excellent coaching. Now that the gym has grown and has a place to call home it is better than ever. The amount of equipment grows every day, and there is always something new. Tommy, Chad, and Melissa really know what they are doing and I couldn't ask for better coaches. Their programming is great with a well-rounded balance of MetCon and Strength. The overall atmosphere is great as well. Everyone is friendly and is always cheering on the other athletes. This type of camaraderie is what CrossFit is all about. All-in-all BoomTown is a great box and I highly recommend it to everyone.

Overall experience

5

Location4

Cleanliness5

Equipment5

Coaching5

Atmosphere5

CFBT = Da Bomb

My home boxPosted 2 years ago by

CrossFit Boomtown is by far the best possible CrossFit box in the area. Superb coaches, who are refreshingly focused not only on caching but on the community as well. Always receiving and utilizing new equipment and keep it sparkling clean at all times. Huge focus on safe form and correct usage of equipment. All in all a damn fine CrossFit box.

Overall experience

5

Location5

Cleanliness5

Equipment5

Coaching5

Atmosphere5

Amazing experience. I started at

My home boxPosted 2 years ago by

Amazing experience. I started at Crossfit Boomtown after becoming bored with traditional weight lifting. From day one the coaching staff has been super positive and supportive, while at the same time ensuring I use proper form for the movements. My wife and I love it!

Overall experience

5

Location5

Cleanliness5

Equipment5

Coaching5

Atmosphere5

I heart CFBT!

My home boxPosted 2 years ago by

I have worked out since I was in my twenties but I have never worked out like this. I was completely out of my comfort zone when I joined CFBT but Melissa and Chad took me under their wing and made me feel successful every single day. They are by far head and shoulders over most instructors that I have encountered. I am also encouraged by the community atmosphere, I feel that everyone really cares about the safety and success of each and every person.

Overall experience

5

Location5

Cleanliness5

Equipment5

Coaching5

Atmosphere5

CFBT Cody

My home boxPosted 2 years ago by

I have gone to cookie cutter gums for most of my life, and I just get bored with the manotony of it. When i first went to boom town i pulled in the parking lot and thought sketchy..(keep in mind 530am) but once Tom got there and i went inside it was like the play ground ive always wanted. Tires to flip kettle bells to lift pull up bars everywhere. This is what i need nothing fancy just stripped down to core fundamentals. I fell in love with getting my ass kicked with exercises I would have never thought of. CFBT is going to change the way I think of fitness and my life I cant wait! Tom is a great trainer easy to relate too and pushes you hard but also keeps your limitations in mind I'm excited to continue this adventure!

Overall experience

5

Location4

Cleanliness5

Equipment5

Coaching5

Atmosphere5

Boomtowns affects on me

My home boxPosted 2 years ago by

Before crossfit I was one of the many people to go to the gym 5 6 times a week for 2 or more hours a day. Since starting at boomtown 3 months ago, i can get a better outcome from a morning WOD than i could when i would go into the gym for 2 hours. Now every morning the first thing i do is check out what the WOD is and then cant wait to get there. The coaches and members at boomtown have always been helpful and most of all motivational. Thanks you Crossfit Boomtown for showing me what a real work out looks like.

Overall experience

5

Location5

Cleanliness5

Equipment5

Coaching5

Atmosphere5

Great Place

My home boxPosted 2 years ago by

Boomtown has a great staff who are very knowledgeable. they know how to put together the right movements and create a great WOD. it is a great atmosphere to give your body the workout it needs. they have invested a lot of time and money into the place and it shows.

Overall experience

5

Location5

Cleanliness5

Equipment5

Coaching5

Atmosphere5

Boomtown is a fantastic place

My home boxPosted 2 years ago by

I started CrossFit a week after finishing my first marathon. After running and cross training so hard in preparation for the marathon, I was doubtful I would ever find anything as physically or mentally challenging once it was over. Then I found CrossFit. The WOD's are the greatest full body workout I have ever had and I am seeing results I never imagined. The coaches are so motivating I have accomplished goals set for myself as well as overcome challenges - such as climbing a rope or jumping on a higher box. Each time a goal is achieved, their excitement matches or exceeds the excitement of the member who accomplished something. Even better, the community atmosphere at Boomtown has taken me from only wanting to workout on my own to wanting to work with others so we can push each other to better results. Boomtown is a fantastic place!

Overall experience

5

Location5

Cleanliness5

Equipment5

Coaching5

Atmosphere5

Coaches are caring and knowledgeable.

My home boxPosted 2 years ago by

What a difference 6 months can make! Thanks to the excellent coaching skills of Chad, Melissa and Tom, I have learned proper movement techniques that give me the most efficiency in every WOD. I have set and attained goals I have never thought possible and look forward to exercising each and every day - something I used to drag myself to do. Boomtown is a fantastic community and such an important part of my daily life.

Overall experience

5

Location5

Cleanliness5

Equipment5

Coaching5

Atmosphere5

©2014. ReviewsForTime.com
CrossFit is a registered trademark of CrossFit, Inc. | Legal Statement

Login

Already a member? Please enter your email address and password to log in.

Not yet a member?

Join now »

Registration

We will not sell or spam your email address
Verify Must be at least 4 characters long
×