CrossFit 3D

5
based on 8 reviews

Location5Perfectly safe

Cleanliness4.6Fairly Clean

Equipment4.9Nicely Equipped

Coaching5Superb

Atmosphere5Totally got the warm & fuzzies

Unit J, Astra Business Park
Guinness Road, Trafford Park

Manchester M17 1SD
United Kingdom

Web:

MAP

Reviews

Couldn't be happier

My home boxPosted 5 years ago by

I've been at 3D for over two years and have loved every minute of it. There's always been a great vibe at the place which is as much down to kind of spirit that Karl and Rach Steadman generate (burpees if you don't introduce yourself to newbies) as the people who are there. The training from an array of coach's is superb, led by Karl, some of which are 'homegrown' straight out of the 3D box which is great to see. The kit is amazing, second only to the programming. There are some great other benefits of being at 3D, not least of which is James Jowsey. This movement/body mechanics guru is amazing and has really helped me and others improve and stay healthy.

There early is a wide array of athletic ability and individual aspirations among its members but every is aligned behind the CrossFit ethos which means support for each other is amazing as is the banter. Rach Steadman, also runs a great kids class and my 5 yr old boy and 3 year old girl have been coming for almost as long as me and they love it.

All in all, this is one of the top boxes in the UK for so many reasons and I wouldn't want to be anywhere else.

Ant T

Overall experience

5

Location5

Cleanliness4

Equipment5

Coaching5

Atmosphere5

Everyone Simply loves 3D

My home boxPosted 5 years ago by

Everyone that starts at 3D just loves it and is instantly hooked just like I was about 5 months back. The second you walk in the place you are made to feel so welcome its one big happy family. The members really make our box it's a real community.

All the coaches are amazing and extremely approachable but our head coach Karl Steadman is second to none, this guy is an inspiration and truely has a gift!

3D has literally changed my life in such a positive way and I think about it and talk about it all the time. I literally can't wait to get down there and see all my fellow Dizzlers, learn new skillsand constantly improve myself.
I truely can't imagine my life without 3D and my fellow Dizzlers now!

The Dizzle is the Shizzle!
David Shaw

Overall experience

5

Location5

Cleanliness5

Equipment5

Coaching5

Atmosphere5

A model on which all Affiliates should be based

My home boxPosted 5 years ago by

CrossFit 3D is one of the UK’s more established Affiliates. Situated on Trafford Park industrial estate, close to the Trafford Centre, access is easy by car, just a couple of minutes off the M6O motorway. Being on an industrial estate, parking is free and plentiful.

Weekday classes are run in the morning and evening with an open gym during the afternoon with the exception of Thursdays which is officially a rest or catch up day but with specific gymnastic and weightlifting skills classes and also a Crossfit advanced class in the evening. Check out the timetable on their website for more info. Saturday mornings include a regular class, an open gym, CrossFit kids and a free taster session for newbies.

Walking inside the building you’re greeted with an impressive combination pull up/wall ball/ring and rope rig with the CrossFit 3D and Beaverfit logos cleverly laser cut into the face. Casting your eyes around, you’ll soon realise that you’re in one seriously well kitted out Crossfit Box, no expense has been spared here. All the gear is top quality and plentiful, most of it bearing the ‘Again Faster’ logo with welcome additions including a full Elieko Olympic weightlifting set, a host of Concept 2 rowing machines, GHD rigs, Watt bikes and strong man gear. The floor is hard rubber matted throughout with four dedicated, flush, lifting platforms along one side. The lower walls have been tastefully painted, ‘Street Art’ style, while the upper half is decorated with an almost uncountable amount of Affiliate T-Shirts, showing 3D’s strong and numerous ties with the wider CrossFit community.

The box is owned and run by Karl and Rachael Steadman. If Karl is the brawn, then Rachael is most definitely the brains behind the outfit, although in reality, each of their roles are mixed and varied between hands on coaching and behind the scenes planning. Karl is one of the few CrossFit level 2 coaches in the UK and is also the ‘Flowmaster’ heading the European coaching team delivering seminars on behalf of Crossfit HQ. Even with this extra commitment he still manages to coach around 60-70% of the classes run at 3D. The rest of the coaching and mobility team bring a vast amount of experience to the box from a wide range of sporting and educational backgrounds including nutrition, sports therapy, gymnastics, football, rugby, kettlebells, Olympic lifting, mobility, swimming, personal defence readiness and even ocean science, they’re a clever bunch and each one of them brings something different to the table making it a rounded well and very experienced team.

There are approximately 70 members at CrossFit 3D at the time of writing and as a tribute to the vision of the affiliate, they come from all different levels of ability and backgrounds. From senior citizens to competitive athletes, the demographic is broad and inclusive. The programming and scalability reflects this, true to the principles of classic Crossfit. The fitter athletes work hard and push each other to finish the WOD first, whilst other members are cheered on all the way to the finish, pushing themselves beyond levels they never imagined. All under the watchful eye of the coach, making sure that range of movement and form is of the highest standard. New members are made to feel welcome and a fine of 10 burpees is usually given to anyone not introducing themselves to a first timer.

I’ve tried hard to think of some negative points to make this a balanced review and I must say that’s probably been the hardest part. What would make it better? Well an extra toilet would be a bonus and with so much kit, sometimes getting to what you want takes a bit of patience but these really are very minor points. With easy access from the motorway, an impressively kitted out interior, a very experienced, knowledgeable coaching team, excellent programming and friendly members, Crossfit 3D has got to be up there as one of the top affiliates worldwide. Don’t just take my word for it, go check it out yourself.

Overall experience

5

Location5

Cleanliness5

Equipment5

Coaching5

Atmosphere5

The Dizzle rocks!

My home boxPosted 5 years ago by

I moved to this box because the box I was training at was not doing true CrossFit ! since I ve been at 3D I ve learnt so much - all the coaches are very knowledgeable and patient and I ve loved every session! there's always a coach prepared to give you their time to help you improve and the atmosphere is amazing! All the members make you feel welcome and are so supportive, I literally can't wait to get there! I would recommend this box to anyone and do on a daily basis ,as I never stop talking about it!

Overall experience

5

Location5

Cleanliness4

Equipment5

Coaching5

Atmosphere5

Train not to suck at life... and change yours in the process

My home boxPosted 6 years ago by

After 25 years of playing rugby i found myslef bored with a basic gym routine, after taking advice from a friend i visited 3D for a taster session, i had visited a few other boxes prior to this but as soon as i entered i was hooked. A fantastic facility with a brilliant head coach in Karl Steadman, one of the few level 2 cerified coaches in the UK. His knowledge and experience guides you through your crossfit journey every step of the way.
Its a fully equipped box with great quality equipment and plenty of space. Testament to this is how long the members just hang out there... almost as long as the training! over 12 months on through the teams encouragment i am now competing at Crossfit and am a certified lev 1 trainer and am assisting a few sessions a week to bulid up some experience... i would not have thought that a year ago, it just shows how at 3D they push you to be the absoloute best you can be.... and they are blimin nice people too!

Overall experience

5

Location5

Cleanliness5

Equipment5

Coaching5

Atmosphere5

Crossfit 3D is life changing - FACT!!

My home boxPosted 6 years ago by

I started at 3D back in September 2011, and from my first trial session at the box I knew that it was going to be a unique experience! My main sport is triathlon, I do strength and conditioning training to feed into / support. A lot of the bodyweight / general stuff I had done before, but the Olympic lifting was completely new to me, and I soon learnt that I was on a very steep learning curve due to various mobility issues. My review, therefore, is going to be based on the quality of coaching and additional unique support that is offered by Crossfit 3D.
Coaching: the Head Trainer and three other main Trainers are beyond a shadow of a doubt the best group of specialists that I have come across in my 10+ years of training. Each one of them has a different key strength, which means that as a collective they are a force to be reckoned with and a top class resource. Their attention to detail, commitment to our continuous improvement, and dedication to the physical wellbeing of members cannot be surpassed in my opinion. There is always at least one of these guys /gals willing to help out with hints and tips on tekkers, progressions, and general advice, and this makes for a very happy team of members.
Additional benefits at 3D: one very unique feature offered by 3D comes in the form of James Jowse the mobility expert. I’ve had various forms of physio / related support in the past but this is by far the most effective approach that I’ve subjected my tired, achy, and inflexible carcass to. The biomechanical approach that Jowse adopts allows the individual to be more aware of how to self-correct, therefore ensuring long-term benefits, injury prevention, and for me a new-found range of movement and associated physical benefits.
Another benefit new to our box is the ‘Advance’ coaching session with the Head Trainer. These are special classes for those who want to focus on fast-track skills and progress – the sessions are tough going, but all worthwhile as the progress that we are all making is mega impressive.
To summarise my review I’ll revert back to the title of my piece: Crossfit 3D is life changing - FACT!!

Overall experience

5

Location5

Cleanliness5

Equipment5

Coaching5

Atmosphere5

Keeping it real 3Dizzler style

My home boxPosted 6 years ago by

Location is in a gated business industrial park close to a main shopping centre (Trafford Centre). Can be tricky to find on occasions if you don't know the area. Really safe spot to train without any concerns and good FREE parking.
Let's be straight.. no CrossFit gym is spotless all the time...they're CrossFit gyms. If anyone gave 5 out of 5 for cleanliness the owners have more time on their hands than members. The toilets and showers are kept clean and tidy as are the food prep areas. The workfloor is kept clean regular too.

As the gym is 2 years old you expect some wear and tear so we don't have quite as many barbells as we used to as a few have broken...some due to shoddy bars more than overuse..but we still have plenty for classes! We've killed most of our ropes in this time but hey...a massive order of them just came in where people ordered their own to help make them a bit more responsible for them! We got atlas stones/2 GHD's/tonnes of wall balls/15ft rop climb frames/flying monkey bars attached to pull up rig/prowler/weights sled/kegs/tyres/sledgehammers/bumpers/DB's/Kettlebells/slus h pipes/ 5 concept 2 rowers/biomechanics stretch station.

Coaching wise its home to a rare UK Level 2 CrossFit Coach (Karl Steadman) who also works the Flow Master role for HQ on European Level 1 Certs. I think at last count another 8 coaches with a variety of CrossFit Level 1 and speciality certifications as well as personal training qualifications.

Atmosphere is usually pretty light hearted and the FUN decor of the place keeps things from getting too serious!

Overall experience

5

Location5

Cleanliness4

Equipment4

Coaching5

Atmosphere5

New to Crossfit 3D

My home boxPosted 6 years ago by

I initially contacted the box by e-mail as I had just moved to the area. The response was quick and I was soon doing my introductory sessions with one if the coaches there. I tried a few one on one sessions and then moved on to attending open gym sessions and daily Wod classes. Through all of this I have had the pleasure of being coached from the majority of the staff at 3D, and have nothing but positive things to say about them all. Always on hand to correct technique, encourage and motivate when needed. There is a great vibe at the box and everyone, both staff and members has made me feel very welcome. The location itself is really handy as it is just off the main ring road around Manchester (near the Trafford Centre) and there is plenty of parking there and it is a nice safe area, where I have no issues taking my 5 year old for the kids classes. Inside there is all the equipment needed to work out, including the height needed for rope climbs, and clean hot showers available for cleaning up afterward. I would happily recommend anyone to try the place out if looking for somewhere to train in the Manchester area.

Overall experience

5

Location5

Cleanliness5

Equipment5

Coaching5

Atmosphere5

©2017. ReviewsForTime.com
CrossFit is a registered trademark of CrossFit, Inc. | Legal Statement

Login

Already a member? Please enter your email address and password to log in.

Not yet a member?

Join now »

Registration

We will not sell or spam your email address
Verify Must be at least 4 characters long
×